We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant country house with warm welcome”
Review of De Montalt Wood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Montalt Wood
Ranked #62 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Sadly, my daughter and I, only spent one night in this beautiful, historical house. We were welcomed by Charles who showed us to our large, light and luxurious Tulip bedroom with a pristene en suite bathroom of great modern style. Anne, who has a history of excellence in the field of hospitality, provided a deliciously home made breakfast and both Charles and Anne were hugely accommodating from the moment we arrived. We will most certainly return to this delightful oasis.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of two rooms on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieLondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peregrinans, Owner at De Montalt Wood, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you so much for you lovely review.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you both. Ann and I we were most flattered and gratified by your friendly enthusiam.

We do hope you will drop by again to our "delightful oasis" and, on your next visit, will have time to tarry a little longer!

Best wishes

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 75 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a beautiful house set back in several acres of grounds (including the surrounding woods as we were informed). The hosts were so very welcoming and really could not do enough - they obviously enjoy getting to know their guests. My girlfriend and I had come to Bath for a long weekend, and finding this nice intimate B&B (there are only two guest rooms) added a lot to our enjoyment of our trip. No expense has been spared on the room, from the super-king size bed to the his-and-hers sinks and a fantastic "large-head" shower. The breakfast was something special too - there was a large choice and good quality ingredients. We're sorely tempted to go back to Bath simply to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tulip Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of the week in June to celebrate our 30th anniversary and we where not disappointed in any way, the building itself was lovely it was nice to hear no traffic or noise at all. Our room overlooked the extensive grounds and was fully equipped with everything you could wish for, nice touches like fresh milk for tea, coffee, hot chocolate, herbal tea in your room. Luxury bathroom and very large and comfortable bed. The owners have obviously put a lot of thought into how to make your stay a comfortable experience.
Breakfast in the morning was superb, fresh fruits, preserves and real orange juice, with quality cooked options. Our hosts gave us good recommendations for places to visit etc and where extremely pleasant and genuine, we shall certainly return.
Bath itself is a delightful city with many beautiful buildings and things to see.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our family chose this hotel as a surprise for my wife's Special Birthday. We were delighted with the accommodation - in fact we were overwhelmed! Lovely king size plus bed meant an excellent nights sleep, superb bathroom. We breakfasted in a period dining room which gave us the feeling that we were from 'upstairs' not 'downstairs'. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice. Charles and his wife made us very welcome and we would recommend this very upmarket B&B to everyone.

Philip. Devon

Room Tip: Two double rooms available - both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

As I stay in a B&B's often I have to say my expectations were definitely exceeded, stylish comfortable bedrooms (loved how powerful the shower was), newly refurbished in an authentic georgian country house 10 minutes from central Bath, set in acres of private gardens and woodland (saw grouse, pheasant, fox & deer from our bedroom window!).

Delicious traditional english breakfast, perfectly clean; the owners made us feel extremely welcome + really went the extra mile for us.

My boyfriend certainly did the right thing to book us in there!

Room Tip: 'Tulip room' is the larger room - would request this if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Would highly recommend, myself and my partner stayed here for our anniversary and had a fabulous time. We couldn't fault a thing. Our room was amazing, the owners are lovely and were so welcoming and helpful, breakfast was great and we would most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lau739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed for three days in this fantastic B&B. Both the owners are very friendly and do there up most to make you feel as comfortable as possible. The B&B itself is beautiful with features such as a large bath, heated floors, a 3D Tv in the bedroom and incredible décor. There is a great selection for breakfast including smoke salmon and scrambled eggs, which we recommend!. We can not recommend this B&B highly enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheaper room and we thought it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moreland86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 34 in Bath
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beech Cottage B&B
Beech Cottage B&B
#23 of 155 in Bath
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forester And Flower
0.4 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#2 of 3 in Monkton Combe
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Montalt Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Montalt Wood

Address: De Montalt Wood Summer Lane, Bath BA2 7EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $208 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful period house built in 1848 completely refurbished for our new B & B venture January 2012. 2 Elegant Bedrooms, spacious and South facing each with their own exclusive luxury Bathrooms. Having previously owned an award winning hotel, we know how to give our customers a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Standing in our own 17 acres of woods and garden and yet we are only 10 minutes from the centre of Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Montalt Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing