We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Family Cooking Expensive”
Review of Portvcale Lounge - CLOSED

Portvcale Lounge
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Portvcale Lounge, a relaxed and laid back Portuguese restaurant/bar in the centre of the world heritage city of Bath. It's family run and the food is freshly cooked by the mother. Traditional "petiscos" and cataplanas as well as other main dishes like "bacalhau a Bras" or "Frango Piri Piri", followed by a exquisite list of wines from the North, Centre and South of Portugal. Also to try are the different types of Sangria (Red, White and Champagne)and the different freshly baked desserts on offer daily.Come and indulge yourself to one of the oldest gastronomies in the world...the Portuguese.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We ate with some friends in the evening when this former cafe/bar tries to be a restaurant. The seating is comfortable but the decor and table tops are well worn. We have travelled in Portugal and know the cuisine fairly well. The usual favourites were there (but no octopus or squid), for example two salt cod dishes, clams and pork and pirri pirri chicken. The waiter who tried to look after us was clearly untrained, and although nice enough the service came to resemble an episode from Fawlty Towers. The food was authentic and clearly cooked by a lady who is a good home cook (she intorduced herself). However, the presentation is poor and the cost high even by Bath standards. At well over £100 for the four of us with one bottle of the house wine we can suggest other restaurants nearby where gourmet food is accessible at this price level. The other disappointment was the absence of the great fresh fish dishes which are a staple of Portuguese cuisine. So if you've never tried authentic Portuguese food then is a place which delivers the basics well but it might just be cheaper to get an Easyjet from Bristol to Lisbon. The service was a joke but if you need a laugh then this would work for you. Perhaps they would be better sticking to performing as a lunch time tapas bar?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio B, Manager at Portvcale Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your time in posting this review, I truly believe that you are a top contributor due to the truthfulness of your reviews therefore so that there are no misunderstandings I would just like to remind you that a table of 4 people (in this case 2 couples) with starters, main courses (2 of them being the most expensive in the menu Piri Piri King Tiger Prawns £17.75 each), a couple of peroni beers for one of the gentlemen and a couple of super bock beers for the other gentleman; one of the ladies had a glass of white wine and the other a glass of rose sangria. in the end as you know and since the restaurant has a limited choice on coffee we offered a complimentary filter coffee to each one of you. I really apologize for you not being happy with the service and the fact that you didn't catch our concept of laid back and well coming always aiming to make you feel at home... I mean, still... £106.75 total bill for premium beers, wine , sangria, freshly cooked starters and main courses for 4 people (plus the coffee) is quite fair in my belief. I will take the necessary action to find out if something went wrong with my colleagues and improve any mistake that has to be improved.

Best Regards,

Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 229 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ate there last night. The octupus was off, the credit card machine was broken, as was the coffee machine, and there was no vanilla ice cream. However, none of that mattered. A very friendly welcome and attentive staff. Good food very reasonably priced and lovely atmosphere. Definitely not pretentious. Will return. Sangria is to die for

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bishopsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Me and my bf visited Bath a couple of weeks ago.My friend recommended me this place.We got there at 2:30ish,it was not busy at all.The food is very nice!Lunch is great value(a choice of two tapas plates and a soft drink for only 8.50).I had prawns&mussels,my bf had salad&chicken in red wine.Will definitely come here again if we're goin to Bath.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cindy_yuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a lovely meal here, the food is slightly different to the usual Tapas fare, with amazing Octopus and Clams. Great seafood! The service was friendly even though we were in a big group that arrived really late as well...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Danny_G_13242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

When the food and service is as good as this you really just want the restaurant to get patronage, this family run business serves great food friendly atmosphere and a welcoming reception well worth a visit and let them guide you, you won't be disappointed..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Seayeaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portvcale Lounge also viewed

 
Farmborough, Bath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing