We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgar Townhouse
Ranked #39 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed December 5, 2008

Stayed here for a long weekend break in a twin room.
Room very clean and comfortable, beds very comfortable (would have prefered a duvet) extra pillows and blankets in wardrobe.
tea and coffee more than adequate and replenished daily, lovely hot shower. Breakfast options good and enjoyable( although didnt know we could have mushrooms...until we saw american couple order EVERYTHING!!)
Very central location,room 6 flights up!!!! but I was informed when booking! although fittish...with a suitcase this is hard but was assisted to push by a lovely lady member of staff(and had a good laugh)Top floor doesnt have a view.. balustrade?? of building in way!
Pleasant inexpensive stay in a great location. Only complaint was other than lady mentioned we found the staff "functional"
no plesantries good morning etc

  • Liked — central, clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — some staff functional
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookworm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    120
    37
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
124
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

One of our friends picked this guest house due to it's central location and presumably the nice architecture of a georgian terrace. We also agreed to try and find somewhere relativey affordable as it was just a weekend away with friends.

We were supposed to stay there for two nights over the weekend but checked out after the first and refused to pay.

On arrival, we realised that the place was basic but our friends who arrived earlier said it was clean at least.

Our room (room 2) was on the street side which is quite noisey (traffic and drunks from town) as it is not double glazed. It was a very small room for a double and the bed wasn't very comfortable and quite short.

The reason we checked out was in the morning the guest in the room above had a shower (which was very noisey) and then we had water pouring through our ceiling of the room and through the light switch in the bathrom. This waterfall feature woke us up, soaked our belongings and was clearly a death trap. It must happen all the time, as the staff didn't seem that shocked and also assumed it was a different room.

The manager acted dumb and offered us our breakfast and to find us alternative accommodation but we just wanted to get out of there. We then contacted the tourist information who found us another B&B relatively central although only a notch up from where we'd been. If you can afford it , stay elsewhere. We certainly learnt our lesson.

  • Liked — It's location and facade
  • Disliked — The water leak
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pleasure2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgarTownhouse, Manager at The Edgar Townhouse, responded to this review, August 8, 2008
I was very sorry that the guests did not enjoy their stay at the Edgar Townhouse. The hotel tries to provide a good and friendly level of service from booking to departure to all guests. We aim to offer good accommodation at a competitive rate in a beautiful Georgian location close to central Bath. The guesthouse has achieved a 3 Star grade and our prices and services reflect this

The hotel bed is a standard double and not shorter than a standard 6ft 3 by 4 ft6 bed. The road outside the townhouse can some times by noisy with revelers returning home late but this is not frequent and double glazing is not in keeping with a grade 1 listed building.

Unfortunately on this occasion we unable to resolve the problems with the guest’s bathroom. The guest in the room above failed to close their shower curtain and flooded the bathroom that then poured into the bathroom below. As a result the bathroom floor was flooded and leaked into the guests bathroom. When the guest brought this to my attention in the morning I was unsure how the leak had occurred, as I had not entered the occupied room above.

It is beyond the staff’s control to stop guest’s flooding their bathrooms. A series of improvements have been made to the bathrooms in the guesthouse, which include new hot water boilers and shower doors. To resolve the problem with this room a new shower door has been fitted in the bathroom above.

The guest was offered a complimentary nights stay to make up for the distress caused and I hope the guest will return to Bath soon.


Rupert Nandi
Manager
The Edgar Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2007

I stayed for 2 nights last month in a single room. The location is excellent and is less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre. My only complaint is that for £60 a night I expect a hot shower. At best I got a dribble of luke warm water.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank cutback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

This was the third hotel we walked into after finding others with no vacancies so we were getting a little desperate. The hotel is in a good location, and we were given a parking permit by the hotel staff which was great.

The room was ok, clean and reasonably comfortable, although not the most attractive of rooms. Bathroom was fine. Wireless internet is available, although you might not be able to pick up a good signal if you are on the top floor.

Overall, it wasn't the greatest hotel we've ever stayed in, although there was nothing specifically bad about it. Hotel staff were nice enough and breakfast was reasonable. The price for a double room was pretty expensive (80 quid) but I suppose beggers can't be choosers!

  • Liked — Parking permit, location, wi-fi internet access
  • Disliked — price!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

We liked the Edgar. The location was excellent, and the staff was very helpful. Our two teenagers had a room on the front which was a little noisy. My wife and I had aroom facing the back of the hotel and it was quiet. The rooms were basic but very clean. The "full English breakfast" was copious, but could have used some fresh fruit. The parking was very useful.

Note: there is no elevator and lugging big suitcases to the upper floors can be a schlep.

Tip: If you stay in Bath, take a morning hike along the canal. It's terrific.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Kitchen smells went straight up the stairwell in the AM and the hotel smelled of the "full English breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jogger-FallsChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

So no A/C, this is the UK it's not normal anyway. Our room was in the subbasement but was clean and big enough for three travelers. We got a parking pass and the location for exploring town was GREAT.

There wasn't a shower in our room only a bath but that's European and standard in some places.

Can't get a better location nor a better hotel in the area. Very nice staff and good breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank southerntraveler1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

A clean and tidy hotel in a central location. The twin room was basic, but clean. The bathroom was a little small.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tweenie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#30 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgar Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgar Townhouse

Property: The Edgar Townhouse
Address: 64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgar Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iption: The Edgar Townhouse is a small friendly guest house located on Great Pulteney Street in the centre of Bath. The house was designed in the classical Georgian style by the architect Thomas Baldwin, and lies on the former estate of Sir William Johnston Pulteney who developed the land and gave his name to the street.The Edgar Townhouse is named after King Edgar who was crowned the first King of England. Edgar was crowned in Saxon monastery, which was destroyed and is now replaced by the abbey, which is a short walk from the guesthouse.When UNESCO designated Bath a World Heritage site put Bath on a par architecturally with the great beauties of Florence and Rome.Great Pulteney Street one of Europe's most magnificent avenues designed by Thomas Baldwin. At one end of Great Pulteney Street is Pulteney Bridge, which was modelled by Robert Adam on the famous Ponte Vecchio in Florence. Walk over this bridge and you are in the centre of Bath, close to the Roman Baths, the pump rooms and the famous Royal Crescent and Victoria Park.Bath is a city of all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Edgar Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgar Townhouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing