We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgar Townhouse
Ranked #38 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in the Edgar Townhouse for 4 nights and were really happy with our choice of hotel in Bath. The hotel is well positioned, only a few minutes walk to the city centre with shops, museums and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room on the first floor was small but had everything we needed. The room and bathroom were clean and warm, the bed was very comfy and the shower worked well. The breakfast was great with a good choice of cooked breakfast, cereals, fruit, tea and fresh coffee. The WiFi connection in our room was generally OK with the odd loss of signal. We did not need parking as we came by train, but the hotel offers a resident parking permit for just £8 for the entire stay.The train station is a 10 min walk away, very convenient. Overall good a good hotel and value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors seem to have a better WiFi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetAndDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    119
    37
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
122
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Edgar Townhouse, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast was very good, parking is on street with a parking permit issued by the B & B which at £8 for the entire stay is very good value. When booking we did request an upper floor room but ended up in the basement which was not as bad as we had expected although the room did look rather tired ,the bathroom was functional but on the small side. The location is ideal to tour the city but overall the property would benefit from some updating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorman174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Our family of four have just spent 2 nights in the 'Quadruple' room. Very spacious & clean, delicious breakfast, friendly staff. One of our party has coeliac disease and the management went out of their way to cook the food separately and made sure that it didn't get contaminated. Only a 5min walk from the centre so ideally located. Parking easy with a permit provided for you. Will definitely be staying there again next time!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I can recommend this delightful centrally located guest house. It's a five minute walk from central Bath and ten minutes from the railway station. Breakfast is as comprehensive as in a decent hotel with a dizzying choice of teas including decaf options. The shower worked well and was easy to understand although in room 1 at least the bathroom is pretty tiny. My wife rated the bed firm and comfy, and the room good and clean. Our room was on the first floor and had no problems with noise - even though we were there on a Friday and Saturday night. The WiFi was OK on our floor but we heard other guests on higher floors had some connection problems. It's strongest in the guest lounge and breakfast room. There are some very pricey hotels in Bath but unless you need the frills this could rate as a much better option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip-Jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had an overnight stop in Bath and booked the guest house for it's location, and that's a good job as that is about all it had to offer. This guest house is In definate need of an update and being a listed building as so often stated is no reasonin responses is no reason for the state and offering of this room/house. The room seemed tiny in comparison to other local accomidation and noise is a real issue as outside late night antics flood through into the rooms. A shower was definately needed when waking up in the morning to what seemed like a film of greese as the smell of breakfast flooded through the house - a real treat to smell cooking meat as a veretarian.

When staying in such accomidation all can be forgiven if the service is friendly and polite, unfortunatley this was not the case, as guests we were treated more as an inconvenience than a paying customer and to say that the staff were rude was an understatement. With many alternatives in Bath, this guest house is best avoided!!

Room Tip: Rooms in other guest houses and hotels would beat these hands down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WelshVisitor1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarbath, Manager at The Edgar Townhouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank for taking the time to make a review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay with us. We are located 5-10 minutes from the city centre so noise can be an issue on occasion. I am sorry you were kept awake by late night revellers but this can be factor when staying so close to the major tourist attractions. We are a Georgian Grade 1 listed building and maintenance is conducted regularly to maintain the building in keeping with its heritage listing. We offer several types of room which are priced according to size and number of flights of stairs to climb. All room sizes are listed on our website. We request guests contact us if they have any queries or requests regarding room size and location. An updraft of breakfast aromas can drift upstairs to the bedrooms but we keep this to minimum. I am sorry if this happened during the morning.
As you can see from previous reviews we try are best to be friendly, courteous and helpful. I am sorry if you felt this was not the case and that we fell short on this occasion from this standard.
We have been unable to locate you stay with us as no compliant was made during your stay, so please contact the guesthouse directly so that I may I discuss it with you. We try to provide a good service for our guests and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Bath. We will try to exceed your expectations if you choose to visit us again. Edgar Townhouse Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have been staying regularly here for many years and have always found it excellent, in a super location, and the staff always friendly and helpful. Rooms and beds fine, showers a bit small (but then I'm a bit big!!), very good breakfast. WiFi is free but needs a boost on top floors.

Room Tip: If you have to park while checking in, leave a note in your car window to say so, for Bath traffic w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our welcome and registration at the Edgar was quick, polite and efficient rather than warm and welcoming. We were however extremely grateful that our heaviest bag was carried up the 5 flights of stairs without us asking for help. Our room was on the small side but, as we never spend much time there, was large enough. We were concerned that as the room faced the main road and being just off the city centre there would be a lot of night time traffic noise. We were wrong! There was very little noise at night and sleeping with a window slightly open was no problem at all. The breakfast menu had a variety of cereals, fruit and yoghurts along with plenty of toast and the usual full English. A choice of teas and decaff coffee also available. The domestic staff were all very friendly and helpful but one or two sometimes seemed to srtuggle with strong accents. As shown in my title the whole house was spotlessly clean and our room was serviced every day with a change of bed linen on the third night. Parking is a different matter. Parking permits are readily available from reception but parking spaces are not ! We spotted a car driving out of the side street near the guest house and were lucky enough to grab the spot before anyone else got there. I could not see another space anywhere so the car stayed put for the duration we were there. Not a problem for us as we prefer to use public transport when away from home. The big plus point is that the house is within 5 minutes walk of all that Bath has to offer. For a 3 star establishment I feel the price is a little on the high side but this is Bath and Bath does carry a premium. My rating is perhaps a liitle harsh. A "good" rating would be more fair but I do not consider the Edgar to warrant a "very good", hence average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#28 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgar Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgar Townhouse

Property: The Edgar Townhouse
Address: 64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgar Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iption: The Edgar Townhouse is a small friendly guest house located on Great Pulteney Street in the centre of Bath. The house was designed in the classical Georgian style by the architect Thomas Baldwin, and lies on the former estate of Sir William Johnston Pulteney who developed the land and gave his name to the street.The Edgar Townhouse is named after King Edgar who was crowned the first King of England. Edgar was crowned in Saxon monastery, which was destroyed and is now replaced by the abbey, which is a short walk from the guesthouse.When UNESCO designated Bath a World Heritage site put Bath on a par architecturally with the great beauties of Florence and Rome.Great Pulteney Street one of Europe's most magnificent avenues designed by Thomas Baldwin. At one end of Great Pulteney Street is Pulteney Bridge, which was modelled by Robert Adam on the famous Ponte Vecchio in Florence. Walk over this bridge and you are in the centre of Bath, close to the Roman Baths, the pump rooms and the famous Royal Crescent and Victoria Park.Bath is a city of all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Edgar Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgar Townhouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing