We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edgar Townhouse
Ranked #39 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed in the large triple bedroom with my friends; the room was nice and big with a lovely view from the window. Friendly staff, good range of choice for breakfast and its located in a great location. The only main issue I would say about it is the smell of fry every morning when I woke up. But other than that, me and my friends had a great stay in Bath :)

Stayed in June 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    122
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
127
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were very pleased with the way this B&B is managed. From the way the manager (owner?) popped out when we rang the bell to the efficient and friendly provision of breakfast to the map of restaurants and advice on what to visit to the storage of our luggage on our last day, it was all very well done. The staff were all extremely helpful and efficient. We particularly appreciated the suggestion to visit the art museum at the end of the street and to try the free walking tour. The breakfast is plentiful and good, especially the local eggs. Coffee might be improved. The location is fantastic. Everything is within easy walking distance, including the train station, and the B&B is on a beautiful street. There are many excellent restaurants in the area as well as groceries for those who need a few carrots or an ice cream bar. We especially enjoyed Yak Yeti Yak--a silly name but excellent food.

Room Tip: We had a room for three on the lowest floor, which is the coolest. We like to sleep with windows ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fafnerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The rooms are bright and with high ceilings, as is the case with all 18th century houses, location is pretty enough, staff is nice, the breakfast is good and gives choice, and we had a nice view on a cricket field. Storing the luggage and WiFi internet are free / included. Overall it's a good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights with my wife in May.

The service was good, and we giot a nice breakfast each day. But they need a better ventilator for the cooking, the whole place smelled of cooking at breakfast time.

Bath is a bit pricey in general, and so was this place as well. The room was a bit dated in general, and especially the bathroom. It did work well though. On avg the place needs an update. And again, very friendly and helpful staff. And the location is very close to the main attractions of the city, just a few minutes walk. And we had a room facing towards the park/green - very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ursus_Polaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fantastic location and the staff were always very welcoming and friendly,having breakfast included was brilliant too. I had the single room which is small and the bathroom is ridiculously small with a pretty average shower! I would stay here again but would make sure i had a double room and on a lower floor,good value for money though in a very expensive city!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juicylucyex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed one night at this B&B. It met the standards of traditional B&B's. The staff were warm and friendly and quite helpful. The breakfast was good and served readily. We got internet connection even at the topmost floor although we were told that it is available only in the lounge. On the whole, satisfied with the services.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sghosh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights while on a course in Bath in one of the single rooms at the top of the house with a great view. The genuine friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff here was 2nd to none and made for a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. They had tips on where to go running in the area (Skyline being the highlight), also had suggestions that came good for every question I had (best coffee, restaurants, free wifi cafe's etc). Breakfast was great, room was cleaned every day of my stay. Cannot fault this place. Thanks for looking after me!
P.S. Hope Ben Nevis was a success

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunningpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Windsor
The Windsor
#46 of 157 in Bath
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgar Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgar Townhouse

Property: The Edgar Townhouse
Address: 64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgar Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iption: The Edgar Townhouse is a small friendly guest house located on Great Pulteney Street in the centre of Bath. The house was designed in the classical Georgian style by the architect Thomas Baldwin, and lies on the former estate of Sir William Johnston Pulteney who developed the land and gave his name to the street.The Edgar Townhouse is named after King Edgar who was crowned the first King of England. Edgar was crowned in Saxon monastery, which was destroyed and is now replaced by the abbey, which is a short walk from the guesthouse.When UNESCO designated Bath a World Heritage site put Bath on a par architecturally with the great beauties of Florence and Rome.Great Pulteney Street one of Europe's most magnificent avenues designed by Thomas Baldwin. At one end of Great Pulteney Street is Pulteney Bridge, which was modelled by Robert Adam on the famous Ponte Vecchio in Florence. Walk over this bridge and you are in the centre of Bath, close to the Roman Baths, the pump rooms and the famous Royal Crescent and Victoria Park.Bath is a city of all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Edgar Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgar Townhouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing