We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guesthouse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edgar Townhouse
Ranked #37 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My mother and I stayed here. From the beginning when the reception staff rushed out to where I was struggling with my overly-large and heavy bag, to the end when the staff laughed at my weak jokes as I was leaving we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room is nice, the location couldn't be beat and the breakfast was lovely. The heater could have been better placed but looking out the window made up for it. The shower was way to small but I can live with it. When I come back to Bath, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 289 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, mainly due to its location to the city centre and reasonable price. The accomodation is clean but basic (as you might expect) however our room (number 15) was a bit noisy first thing in the morning. You could hear the floor creaking where people were walking around outside the room and we could also hear the water tank every time someone had a shower! I think we must have been next to the water tank room or something.
Unfirtunately, on both mornings, there was no hot water at 8.30am when we wanted to shower - it seems that the demand for hot water at that time of day outweighed the hotel's capability to supply, which was rather frustrating as we then had to wait for the hot water to fill up again.
The staff members serving breakfast were all very pleasant and food was served in a timely manner, however the gentleman running the hotel who was manning the reception did not have time for us. He hurriedly showed us to our room on arrival and literally got out as soon as he could to go back and sit at reception. He was not very welcoming and friendly, and perhaps he is not best suited for that job. Although, he was kind enough to let us keep our luggage in the hotel after we checked out because out train wasn't until later in the day and did helpfully advise us to book our Saturday night meal in advance.
In terms of location, this hotel is just right - in walking distance to the Roman baths, the Thermae Spa, Bath Abbey and the shopping centre and Christmas markets.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaJChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarbath, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgar Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Guests may check into their rooms as soon as they like if the room is ready. We have a preferred checkin time between 3-8.30pm so that we can give our guests the fullest attention. The guest checked in early so the registration process was unfortunately rushed on this occasion. We have called a plumber to investigate the fluctuating water temperature in the shower. We are pleased to read the guest enjoyed our breakfast and our city center location. Noise can sometimes be a factor and we offer rooms away from the road if they are lite sleepers. Always call in advance before booking to select an appropriate room as we have rooms over 7 floors. Wishing all TripAdvisor users a merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were very happy with our stay in this guest house in the magnificent Great Pulteney Street in Bath. It is perfectly located for a visit to Bath - a very short walk to Pulteney Bridge and you're there! The staff were friendly and accommodating and the room and ensuite were clean and cosy. There is on-street parking and you can buy a pass for £8 from Reception for your whole stay, which is great. The breakfasts are very generous - buffet continental style cereals and a lot of different options from full English to vegetarian. All very fresh, hot and well cooked. We would definitely recommend this guest house for your stay in Bath!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Cannot fault this guest house. Perfect location just a short walk into centre of town. Best breakfast we have had from any hotel we have stayed at. £8 parking permit for entire stay makes everything much easier. Staff friendly and helpful. Bath is a beautiful city and we really enjoyed the Christmas Markets. Would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkKingsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

So the boyfriend and I went to Bath for the weekend of his birthday and we managed to book this place via lastminute.com. We were really, really impressed.

Location: so the location is pretty much *perfect*. You literally walk down the street and voila! City center! - It's also only about a 15min walk from the train station. The road and pavement it was on is are both very wide so very comfortable to walk down, had beautiful surroundings with a museum at the other end of the road. We had both bought City Sightseeing tickets and there is a bus stop taking you on the Skyline tour 1 min walk away (cross the road, walk a few steps and there you are). But since it isn't smack bang in the city centre it is thankfully very quiet at night. The view from the lounge in the morning is also stunning.

Our room: was smaller than I was expecting, but a good size. There was a TV at the foot of our bed, just far enough to not make you feel uncomfortable at the proximity but also close enough so you can see clearly. We had a couple of nice nights in, chilling on the bed watching a bit of TV after a busy day. The bathroom is also a very good size with shower, sink, toilet. They provided fresh, clean towels and cleaned our room daily which was really nice :) I wasn't expecting such pro cleaning considering it was a family-run hotel so twas a very pleasant surprise.

Only thing is, our room was basement-level and street-facing. I desperately needed a nap when we first arrived and just simply couldn't sleep as it was so noisy. If someone walks in through the front door of the hotel, you can hear it very, very clearly. Thankfully in the evening noise wasn't much of a problem. The view was also a bit crap from our room, awh well :(

Breakfast: yum. There are a wide variety of choices (no kippers though, if you were hoping for that) and we had the full English for all days we were there. Tea, coffee, hot choc, juices, cereal, fruit and yoghurts are all a given that you can help yourself to. You order toast and your hot breakfast. They're very flexible in orders. Both the boyf and I didn't want bacon so we were allowed two other choices as substitutes (instead of two slices of bacon). I also recommend swapping fried eggs (you get two) for scrambled but that's personal preference :9

Service: can't complain. They were very friendly and went above and beyond expectations of a 3* hotel. We were allowed to leave food in their fridge and when we wanted to eat it, the staff heated up our food for us as well has providing us with napkins, plates, cutlery and anything else we needed, as well as having a friendly chat with us to keep the atmosphere light and warm.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this place :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This townhouse has a great location quite near the centre of town and easy to find.
The room we had was quite cramped and was probably their last room judging by other reviews there were nuch better rooms available but that is what happens when you arrive on a Saturday without a booking.
The room was comfortable and clean, gap between the foot of the bed and the wall was only 18 inches at best.
Breakfast was great with heaps of variety. The owner was very pleasant and allowed us to park for free as we had arrived late and there was only an hour until the parking permit ran out.

Room Tip: Book early and request a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great time at this Guest House. Room was not large but was well presented and clean. The staff were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay and the parking arrangements were easy and good. Great central location, very near the Rec and the Poultney Bridge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
820 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Windsor
The Windsor
#42 of 155 in Bath
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgar Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgar Townhouse

Address: 64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $123 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgar Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iption: The Edgar Townhouse is a small friendly guest house located on Great Pulteney Street in the centre of Bath. The house was designed in the classical Georgian style by the architect Thomas Baldwin, and lies on the former estate of Sir William Johnston Pulteney who developed the land and gave his name to the street.The Edgar Townhouse is named after King Edgar who was crowned the first King of England. Edgar was crowned in Saxon monastery, which was destroyed and is now replaced by the abbey, which is a short walk from the guesthouse.When UNESCO designated Bath a World Heritage site put Bath on a par architecturally with the great beauties of Florence and Rome.Great Pulteney Street one of Europe's most magnificent avenues designed by Thomas Baldwin. At one end of Great Pulteney Street is Pulteney Bridge, which was modelled by Robert Adam on the famous Ponte Vecchio in Florence. Walk over this bridge and you are in the centre of Bath, close to the Roman Baths, the pump rooms and the famous Royal Crescent and Victoria Park.Bath is a city of all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Edgar Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgar Townhouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing