We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Italian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sotto Sotto

Sotto Sotto
Ranked #3 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: BOOKING IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. We are closed from 1st-14th August, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Easter Sunday & from 1st-14th January. Situated just a few steps away from the Roman Baths, our attractive and atmospheric restaurant is located in a charming candle lit historical cellar of natural Bath stone with vaulted ceilings throughout, and resembles the cavernous cellars of an Italian grotto.The main characteristic of our cuisine is its simplicity. We rely on the quality of our ingredients rather than on elaborate preparation.We also like to offer traditional Italian dishes with a contemporary twist because we strongly believe in those 'Sapori' (flavours).With our finest ingredients coming from Italy, and all of our fresh vegetables, seafood and meats sourced locally, we are able to ensure high quality dining that will exceed your expectations.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was by far the best meal we had in England on our walk from Stratford to Bath. We had no reservation, but we were offered a good table in the crowded restaurant. The decor was very tasteful, and the ambiance attractive. Our waiter was superb - friendly, respectful, helpful and experienced. Our starters were very good - bruschetta with liver, and tuna carpaccio with rocket. My bistecca was excellent, as was my wife's veal. The wine (Primitivo from Puglia) was top quality and reasonably priced. The desserts (tiramisu and chocolate mousse) were excellent. Very good coffee and a yummy grappa rounded off a great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,464
    475
    117
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Irish man at the door!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

He's the one and only non Italian member of the staff in all the restaurant, but he's learning Italian and will be the one that will greet you with a wide smile at the door! Well done Ross! Aside for that, I can't help but agree with all the good review of this restaurant. Good food, beautiful atmosphere and great service! It was my birthday and they surprised me with a beautiful decoration on the dessert and a nice sing along happy birthday from all the staff...and I've never been there before! It was really very nice! I'm Italian myself and I felt like home while in there! if you're looking for a posh & friendly environment, you want to impress your loved ones and leave with a very happy feeling, you can't go wrong with this place! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianna869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Terrific staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We went again yesterday after a wet afternoon at the rugby. A treat bought by our generous son! My over riding impression is the fantastic staff. How does Antonio get such wonderful people...are they born that way or is the training so good?
Without exception you know that they will be attentive, friendly,cheerful,amusing,informative ......all without any perceivable effort . And this is without being casual ,condescending or unfriendly. They appear to greet everyone as an old valued friend and it makes every visit a pleasure.
And the food was great and good value. And we won the rugby......

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Great food, atmosphere, and people! It was somewhat expensive, but definitely worth every penny. The menu had a varying selection of food, so finding something you like shouldn't be a problem.

Helpful?
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Like a posh Frankie and Bennys”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Look, this is not the top restaurant in Bath (as tripadvisor would have you believe). It isn't even close.

It's nice enough and the food is tasty and, if you don't take too high an expectation here, you'll probably enjoy the evening.

We'd booked a table a week or so in advance. On arrival our table was not ready so we were sat in the bar. A cold, stone-oerientated bar. Here we were ignored and I had to ask that we were at least offered drinks.

Fifteen minutes later we were shown to our table.

Food was typical Italian fare. Nice enough pasta at a reasonable cost. The wine list was hardly extensive, but had enough to choose something acceptable from.

Every 20-30 minutes or so another rendition of 'Happy Birthday' would spring up, hence the title of my review. Fine dining it is not.

Service, after the inauspicious start, was quite good. They were apologetic when we left due to the lateness of our table.

I think this place is probably a notch above the usual Italian restaurants you might visit (Pizza Express, Zizzi, etc.), but it is not high-end by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank craigodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Sotto also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing