We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious in Every Way”
Review of Sotto Sotto

Sotto Sotto
Ranked #3 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: BOOKING IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. We are closed from 1st-14th August, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Easter Sunday & from 1st-14th January. Situated just a few steps away from the Roman Baths, our attractive and atmospheric restaurant is located in a charming candle lit historical cellar of natural Bath stone with vaulted ceilings throughout, and resembles the cavernous cellars of an Italian grotto.The main characteristic of our cuisine is its simplicity. We rely on the quality of our ingredients rather than on elaborate preparation.We also like to offer traditional Italian dishes with a contemporary twist because we strongly believe in those 'Sapori' (flavours).With our finest ingredients coming from Italy, and all of our fresh vegetables, seafood and meats sourced locally, we are able to ensure high quality dining that will exceed your expectations.
Easton, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious in Every Way”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful Italian food in Bath, England! Fresh and magically prepared as in Tuscany or Rome. Each morsel of food delights. Seafood, vegetarian, meat, sweet. So does the staff.... in every way. Professional, thoughtful, there before you even think of asking. The atmosphere too is captivating. Rustic while contemporary; the lighting just right. We are so pleased we read reviews prior to our visit indicating the charm and deliciousness of Sotto Sotto, later reinforced by the staff at our B&B. An experience we will remember and recreate upon our next visit to this fine city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,766
    506
    123
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“NYE @ Sotto Sotto”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Cannot fault this restaurant for delicious food, attentive staff and fantastic ambiance. Also good value for money, certainly deserving of the wonderful reviews it receives on TA!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Bath, and not only!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

As soon as we entered the restaurant my wife and I were welcome with big smiles and attentive service which made us feel immediately at home. The impeccable service was kept throughout our time there and was matched by the quality of the food and the amazing ambiance.
We had a pre-theatre dinner, starting at 5.30 p.m. and expecting an almost empty place we were surprised to see how many people were already there, enjoying their food.
The menu is really Italian, no spelling mistakes as often found in Italian restaurants in the UK, and the quality of the food was real Italian
We had carpaccio di tonno, minestrone, linguine con gamberi, gamberoni alla griglia and ice cream, all very good. The Pinot Grigio was also excellent.
We will be back to taste some more dishes as soon as we are back in Bath,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto046London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pefect place for a perfect proposal! ”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

After seeing Sotto Sotto advertised in a leaflet 2yrs ago whilst on a long weekend away. It has been our place to go and visit for a superb meal. 10/10 for service absolutely brilliant cant fault it. Staff are second to none,always have been welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
Absolutely brilliant as always...on the 28th Dec I made the easy decision for Sotto Sotto to be the perfect place to enjoy a fantastic meal and propose to my girlfriend, now my fiancé! Everyone at Sotto Sotto made the evening perfect helping me to plan the evening, allowing me to choose the music, having a bouquet arranged and laying the ring out beautifully on petals, thanks again to all at Sotto Sotto for allowing this to happen, we will be back soon!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic again”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Yet another fantastic lunch at our favourite restaurant. The chicken and sausage in balsamic sauce is sublime.

The new Primitivo house wine was a great discovery and I will be ordering a case to enjoy at home.

Service was impeccable as always.

We went to Sotto Sotto's Tripadvisor competitor, Ad Hoc, in Rome on our Honeymoon earlier this year and while it was fantastic, in terms of value for money and the overall experience Sotto Sotto has it beaten.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrLimoncello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Sotto also viewed

 
 

Been to Sotto Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing