We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a truly amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sotto Sotto

Sotto Sotto
Ranked #3 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: BOOKING IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. We are closed from 1st-14th August, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Easter Sunday & from 1st-14th January. Situated just a few steps away from the Roman Baths, our attractive and atmospheric restaurant is located in a charming candle lit historical cellar of natural Bath stone with vaulted ceilings throughout, and resembles the cavernous cellars of an Italian grotto.The main characteristic of our cuisine is its simplicity. We rely on the quality of our ingredients rather than on elaborate preparation.We also like to offer traditional Italian dishes with a contemporary twist because we strongly believe in those 'Sapori' (flavours).With our finest ingredients coming from Italy, and all of our fresh vegetables, seafood and meats sourced locally, we are able to ensure high quality dining that will exceed your expectations.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's a truly amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wonderful venue,fantastic food and excellent service. Our waiter for this evening was Manuel and he certainly looked after us. He offered advice about the menu and made sure that we were well and truly looked after. Would certainly recommend. Also thanks to Antonio and all the staff, have never been looked after so well and what wonderful food, the flavours were out of this world.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChippenhamSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,474
    476
    117
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very pleasant restaurant in Bath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a lovely meal here. The service was a bit over attentive, however, the staff were really nice, the food was extremely good and very reasonably priced. Sotto Sotto is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantistico!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Didn't have a table booked however we were accommodated as a couple with a little baby late on a Fri evening - despite the lack of available tables.

The place was fantastic, the service was superb and the food brilliant and good value. Carlo (part owner) said he wanted people to experience good food and at a reasonable price - absolutely hit the mark.

Carlo and colleagues were very friendly and looked after us all evening.

Deserves to be thought of as the best restaurant in Bath - we loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcjc2000b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, authentic Italian dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my now fiancée have been to Sotto Sotto a couple of times before but this was the first time we went as just a 2. The food was fantastic and the service was just as good. The majority of the waiting staff are Italian which makes all the difference! All in all a fantastic meal and lovely atmosphere. Little did they know it was a pre-proposal engagement meal!

See you all soon, Carmelo Lattuca

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmelo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Sotto Sotto for our anniversary hearing very good things about the place, we had to try it for ourselves!

As we walked through the entrance we were greeted with a very warm welcome and were very promptly walked to our table. Staff were very friendly and attentive from the very beginning.

The menu was varied and included everything from pasta and pizza to steak and chicken dishes; all of the dishes that we saw leave the kitchen looked amazing.

Our food was perfectly cooked and very flavorsome. To start, we had the antipasti board, which included mozzarella to die for! We then had prawn linguine, and seafood linguine (both with extra chilli) which were lovely and a very good size. For dessert, we had gelato and lemon profiteroles, which, again, were both absolutely gorgeous. We had informed the restaurant that it was our anniversary before we arrived, so when our desserts came, I was delighted to see that they were decorated with candles and the words 'happy' on one dish and 'anniversary' on the other. A really lovely touch.

We finished our meal with a liqueur coffee each, which was a perfect end to the meal.

The restaurant was absolutely packed, and rightly so. I wouldn't hesitate the recommend this gorgeous restaurant to any of my friends, and would take a trip back to Bath just to eat there again.

Thank you for a lovely meal, and for making our anniversary extra special :-)

1 final tip - make sure that you book in plenty of time!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleyandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Sotto also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing