We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, lovely food, lovely restaurant”
Review of Sotto Sotto

Sotto Sotto
Ranked #3 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: BOOKING IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. We are closed from 1st-14th August, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Easter Sunday & from 1st-14th January. Situated just a few steps away from the Roman Baths, our attractive and atmospheric restaurant is located in a charming candle lit historical cellar of natural Bath stone with vaulted ceilings throughout, and resembles the cavernous cellars of an Italian grotto.The main characteristic of our cuisine is its simplicity. We rely on the quality of our ingredients rather than on elaborate preparation.We also like to offer traditional Italian dishes with a contemporary twist because we strongly believe in those 'Sapori' (flavours).With our finest ingredients coming from Italy, and all of our fresh vegetables, seafood and meats sourced locally, we are able to ensure high quality dining that will exceed your expectations.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely people, lovely food, lovely restaurant”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was there on my trip in Bath. Unfortunately, the restaurant was fully booked once I arrived on the first night. The manager commended me to a very nice Thai restaurant nearby otherwise I should wait till 10pm! The next afternoon, I visited the place again for my lunch. I have received the best service ever in a Italian restaurant in the UK. I had a wonderful meal with total cost £25 only. Best memory in Bath

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,718
    502
    123
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful Italian experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Found this restaurant on tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed. The food and service were excellent. Good selection across the lunchtime menu and would recommend the sotto sotto pizza - excellent flavour and very filling. Very attentive staff without being over the top - really nice touch - went for my wife's birthday - was having a conversation with a nice couple on the next table and the waiter must have heard me mention why we were there - next thing out came a lemon profiterole with a candle accompanied by 3 waiters singing happy birthday in Italian - she was beside herself! Will be going back the next time we are in Bath - do try this place you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service but average food”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had lunch at the restaurant but found the food to be average. Service was excellent though - was greeted by the manager as if we were old buddies and the waiters were very friendly and prompt. Nice setting with the underground hall way but there was a constant humming noise (probably the extractor fan) which was slightly distracting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingcircusof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio A, General Manager at Sotto Sotto, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Here at Sotto Sotto the emphasis is on total customer satisfaction. Unfortunately we cannot turn back the clock. I wish you would have mentioned your disappointment to your server on one of our standard check backs which we do at each course. Or at the very least you had shared your thoughts with me. We are a cellar restaurant and therefore we have installed a specially designed ventilation system to ensure high air quality throughout the restaurant. We have had many guests comment on how clean the air is. Never any complaint about the noise as it is very minimal and usually can’t be heard. It has never been an issue with any of our guests. However, if you had only mentioned it, we would have been more than happy to move you to another table.
In regard to what has been described as average food. I would like to clarify that we have spent a lot of time sourcing out the best quality meats, fish, and produce of which we receive fresh deliveries daily. We are proud to say that all of our fresh vegetables, seafood, and meat are sourced locally and that our meat comes from Walter Rose & Son, fish from King Fisher of Brixham and produce from Oliver Kay without mentioning all of the finest ingredients imported from Italy. These companies deliver to many of the fine dining restaurants in the area. Saying this we strongly believe that we are able to serve our guests the highest quality food.
We are sorry that you had an underwhelming experience with us here at Sotto Sotto, we hope that you change your mind and choose to come and dine with us again and give us the opportunity to try and rectify any average thoughts that you have of our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant but felt they tried a bit too hard, would prefer a more relaxed approach”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We did enjoy our visit to this restaurant but it was a bit like being in a bee hive - really lovely characterful interior with lots of very busy waiters being very attentive, just bit too much sometimes. Food: some dishes delicious eg squid was light and perfectly cooked starter, but i found that the goats cheese starter had little bit too much cheese and not enough mushroom. Main course the seabass was fractionally overdone and the spicey chicken dish lacked any variety of colour or texture - everything on the plate looked and tasted the same with a very spicey sauce coating everything. Chocolate mousse for dessert was yumm. I think maybe we just prefer a slightly more relaxed approach to dining.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank beermill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio A, General Manager at Sotto Sotto, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
I would like to address each of your concerns individually.
Our Portobello alla griglia con caprino described as grilled Portobello mushroom topped with glazed goat cheese, pine nuts and an aged balsamic reduction has received much praise. However If you had mentioned your desire for more Portobello Mushroom to your server on the check back ,which is standard with each course, we would have been happy to provide you with more Mushroom. My apologies if you felt there was not enough Portobello or there was too much goat cheese.
In regard to your Branzino con speck e aparagi which is described on the menu as the fillet of sea bass wrapped with smoked parma ham, sautéed with white wine, cherry tomatoes ,and asparagus , my sincerest apologies if you found it to be fractionally overdone. We have never had a complaint like this before. However, if you would have mentioned your desire for a fractionally less done sea bass, chef would have been more than happy to cook the sea bass to your liking.
What you have described as spicy chicken is our pollo e salsiccia. It is clearly described on the menu as strips of chicken breast and Italian sausage sautéed in white wine with hot cherry peppers, garlic, rosemary and aged balsamic. The balsamic is dark what colour did you expected to see, I fail to comprehend how chicken and sausage could taste the same. This dish is meant to be spicy it says on the menu that it’s cooked with hot cherry peppers if you had a doubt you could have asked your server prior to ordering it, our servers are very knowledgeable and know the menu well, he could have recommended another dish or asked chef to make it less spicy for you.
Here at Sotto Sotto exceptional service e is our standard. Other reviews have described us as attentive without being intrusive. We enjoy serving our guests, my apologies if you prefer a more relaxed approach to dining but the vast majority of our guests enjoy being served to higher standards. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaticano, Huila, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Italian meal”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely basement restaurant, full of stone arches and corridors. We had lunches ranging from sea bass to pasta and pizza - all really well made and tasty. My fettucine with butternut squash and truffle oil was superb, and all reasonably priced. Friendly & attentive waiters made this a great meal all round.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrstrellis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Sotto also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing