We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Sotto Sotto

Sotto Sotto
Ranked #3 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: BOOKING IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. We are closed from 1st-14th August, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Easter Sunday & from 1st-14th January. Situated just a few steps away from the Roman Baths, our attractive and atmospheric restaurant is located in a charming candle lit historical cellar of natural Bath stone with vaulted ceilings throughout, and resembles the cavernous cellars of an Italian grotto.The main characteristic of our cuisine is its simplicity. We rely on the quality of our ingredients rather than on elaborate preparation.We also like to offer traditional Italian dishes with a contemporary twist because we strongly believe in those 'Sapori' (flavours).With our finest ingredients coming from Italy, and all of our fresh vegetables, seafood and meats sourced locally, we are able to ensure high quality dining that will exceed your expectations.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Walked in off the street so had not made reservation the restaurant was very busy, we were greated very warmly and it was not long before we had a table. Food is excellent and reasonably priced, the atmosphere is fantastic you can really belive you are in Italy, well done Antonio and your team keep up the good work we will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,613
    489
    120
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“birthday dinner”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our second visit to Sotto Sotto and it was faultless once again, the style of service complement the environment and the menu, it is a total package, glorious, a real highlight of a short trip away.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurreySmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary dinner”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband booked a reservation in celebration of our 39th anniversary. We traveled from Birmingham, Al and have to say that Soto Soto is one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. The food was outstanding and the service superb! Antonio, one of the owners went out of his way to make our anniversary one to remember. The staff were really special as well. The restaurant has such a romantic atmosphere, perfect for a special celebration, but wonderful for dinner any time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impeccable service”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Antonio di Napoli- grazie- a perfect evening with amazing service. Great food too. Go here if u want to experience true Italian service

Helpful?
Thank Giles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Be sure to eat here”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Be sure to make a reservation! This restaurant exceeded all our expectations! The subterranean atmosphere is so unique, service is outstanding & the food is fabulous. We started with calamari & cicchetti della casa, then had a delcious warm salad. The presentation of our entrees was artistic and all the food was obviously prepared from fresh products. We enjoyed the risotto of the day, ravioli of the day, vitello and sea bass. We shared panna cotta and tiramisu for dessert. The limoncello was the perfect ending to a wonderful evening!

Just a word of caution: There are many steps to descend to the entrance. I did not see a handicap entrance so you may want to call ahead if mobility is an issue for anyone in your group.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naiad51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Sotto also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing