We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menu Gordon Jones

Menu Gordon Jones
Ranked #2 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $69
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Menu Gordon Jones is all about amazing food, with an element of surprise. All Chef's menus are seasonal, locally sourced and offer real value for money. To really tickle your taste buds try our dishes, all served by our friendly staff in a funky setting.
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Still fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We don't eat out often but a return trip here after 13 months was not a disappointment. The food was delicious, matched wines almost perfect and the service is excellent. The friendly and relaxed atmosphere is what sets this place apart in addition to the great food. I feel there is little point going out to eat the food you would or can cook fairly easily at home and so it is worth the wait and extra cost of places like this. Please don't leave Bath but a shorter waiting list for Fridays and Saturdays would be welcome!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WalkthenWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    50
    27
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One term is all that is needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We managed to get a table for lunch by quirk of fate. Concept is brilliant; food is brilliant; service is brilliant. Will be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snuffjugend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
154 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hail to the chef!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Walking into MGJ I was greeted by 'Dimension' by Wolfmother playing loud and proud. It's a gratuitous 70's inspired piece of rock brilliance and definitely not what 99% of restaurants would or should be playing. The playlist continued, Jet, Kasabian, The Vines, QOTSA. It may seem an arbitrary point to talk about the music but I feel it sums up Gordon's approach, as he put it himself at the end of my superb lunch, 'life is too short'.
Inventive, delicious, great service, brilliant value.
Hail to the chef and his crew. GO. EAT.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MathewWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good find in bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited this place after reading positive reviews on TripAdvisor. It was not disappointing at all. Taste was perfect and presentation was impeccable. Service was spot-on. Nice environment and great food. I will visit this place more often.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lived up to all expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Absolutely fantastic, lived up to all the hype in every little way. Book a table and you won't be dissapointed in the slightest. Cannot wait to return. Good value for what you get, and a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella-T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menu Gordon Jones also viewed

 

Been to Menu Gordon Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing