We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it supposed to be like this?”

West Cornwall Pasty Company
Ranked #8 of 8 Bakeries in Bath
Restaurant details
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Is it supposed to be like this?”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went for the pasty on the sidewalk in Bath experience. It had a bit of flavour (better with sauce) but I couldn't understand why it was filled mostly with overcooked onions, so little meat, lots of crust (flakey/chewy). I haven't had pasties that often, so I gave them the benefit of the doubt that perhaps this is what a British pasty is supposed to be like (??) Not sure. Still, I didn't want another. So I moved on to the fries that came with the combo. The fries were large, salty, and pretty intense -- my wrong choice (too starchy) after the doughy pasty.

Counter service was pleasant. Outdoor seating a little tight due to location in busy sidewalk.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shnti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCPC, Customer Service at West Cornwall Pasty Company, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed visiting following your visit to our Bath store. Please contact info@westcornwallpasty.co.uk so that we can respond to you directly and obtain some further details so that we can look into these issues and address them accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    13
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Pasty's EVER”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Little place, however, I have had a patsy in Wales and had alwAYS been disappointed. But this place, oh my goodness.....fantastic flaky crust and delicious cheese and onion filling. I will be coming back and tasting the others as well!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCPC, Customer Service at West Cornwall Pasty Company, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. These have been passed on to the store who will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Please contact info@westcornwallpasty.co.uk so that we can personally thank you” 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Pasties”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Whenever we are in Bath we ensure that we get a few of these great pasties to take home and eat al fresco. Great choices and piping hot. Recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not many miner's could afford this staple food!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

2 x (reasonably) large Cornish pasties
2 x diet pepsi
1 x potatoes wedges

When ordering, we were encouraged to accept the offer of some freshly baked potato wedges, which we accepted, out of politeness, and were charged for the unrequested addition. The wedges were spiced, but dry.

The pasties were ok, but not remarkably big or tasty. Once again, we were not offered any sauces so the entire taste experience was very dry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gumhead11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was excited by the prospect of a pasty in Bath. I was severely disappointed and did not think it was good value. I had the traditional pasty and lets just say there wasn't much filling, more pastry! I have had pasty in supermarket with more meat at half the price! It was lunch time, but the pastry was quite chewy. There are a few other places around, maybe try them out, they seem to be more reasonably priced too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chaan758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Cornwall Pasty Company also viewed

 

Been to West Cornwall Pasty Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing