We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous lunch”

The Bath Bun Tea Shoppe
Ranked #18 of 41 Coffee & Tea in Bath
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: It's located in the town centre and has got delicious cakes :)
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Marvelous lunch”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Couldn't bear the line and wait at Sally Lunn's, so we landed here. The Bath Bun served tasty sandwiches in a cozy corner of a picturesque little square justvsteps from the Abbey and the Roman Baths. Jane Austen didn't walk in, but she almost might have.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank table42-justus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    107
    75
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cute place for high tea”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I had the Classic High Tea and really enjoyed our meal. We sat upstairs by the window where we could hear the guitarist playing in the square. The sandwiches don't have tons of filling, but they were flavorful and had enough that you don't feel cheated. The Victoria cake was my favorite, with lots of cream filling! The walnut cake was also very good. Of course the tea was good too. The scones were more moist and soft than most scones, but still yummy, with plenty of clotted cream and jam to pile on. It was all nicely presented on a tower of plates, and the waitresses outfits were adorable and added to the fancy tea time feel. The waitresses could have been a little more attentive, but it wasn't a big deal. I would go back for tea there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank litlhafgost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and friendly”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After a horrendous experience the previous day, this restored our faith in West Country tea shops. Lovely cakes and sandwiches, vintage china and efficient service with a smile from waitresses in period black and white. A good find.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy040252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Perfect afternoon tea”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you want an affordable, quaint and lovely option to the ridiculously priced pump room - this is the place. Just around the corner from the busy bustle is this gem in the shade of a beautiful maple. Top marks for the coffee and scones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Tea Room”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We came here for a snack before heading back to London, which turned into afternoon tea. There is a wide variety of sandwiches and cakes as well as other food. Our meal was delicious and good value. The service was good and the staff is in period dress, adding to the quaint decoration. It is a lovely little tea room and well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bath Bun Tea Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing