We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but a word of warning”

The New Crown Inn and Pub
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Crown Inn and Pub
Ranked #81 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OK, but a word of warning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The room at the New Crown Inn is absolutely fine. Clean, comfortable and basic. They don't serve a full breakfast, but supply cereal in the room, which was fine... there's a nice cafe serving really good coffee and cooked breakfasts just round the corner. It's budget accommodation and that's what you get.
However, the pub... we had thought that we could go for a few pints in the pub in the evening. Not really an option. If you don't live within walking distance of the pub, it's not an option.
If all you want is a cheap bed that's pretty close to the city centre, this place is fine. If you think it would be nice to stay in a lovely west country pub, pop in for a drink and maybe eat, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guyweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
6
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

If you're wanting a standard bb & b - don't go here! But if you're wanting something a bit different, secluded yet close to city centre, this could be the right place. We too stayed in the garden room, found it very quiet though we were there at weekend, very clean, self-service breakfast (what's wrong with a Foster's fridge, for goodness sake, what do you expect for £30 each?!!). The only down-side for us was the limited on-street parking.

Room Tip: Go for the garden flat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I had dinner with group of 66. The restaurant just too small for a large group and made some 0f the participant felt not comfortable with the seat arrangement. They served good food, Group max 30 will be fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristianBath, Owner at The New Crown Inn and Pub, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
I agree our pub is not suitable for 66 diners. Firstly, we do not have a restaurant and secondly, we ca'nt even seat 66 people in the bar, let alone feed them!
Is'nt it sad when somebody takes the trouble to write a review but they do'nt know where they've been. It certainly was'nt here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have stayed at the New Crown in Weston, Bath many times and am very happy with it.
I have stayed most times in the Garden Room - the same room as the previous reviewer and found her comments very surprising.

The room has a single and double bed, small flat screen tv, breakfast table with plates, cutlery, cereals etc. The fridge has always had milk in, although I have always bought my own from the local shop as I prefer skimmed milk.
The floor of the room is fully tiled.
I agree that the decor is slightly dated, but have always found the room and bedclothes to be clean and have never experienced any strange smells in the room.
The wireless internet connection in the room is excellent and fast.
The bathroom has a shower and WC, together with a heated towel rail and ample towels. I have never had problem with the shower temperature changing, the only small niggle in the bathroom is that the light flickers for about 7-8 seconds when first entering the internal bathroom, but then stays on as normal with internal extractor fan running.
I find the price of £30 excellent for this room and its location - it is in the heart of a very nice village with all amenities one would need:

1 supermarket and 1 corner shop
Indian and Italian restaurant
Several pubs
Excellent cafe with fresh produce and occasional live jazz music
Post Office
Laundry and flower shop
Hairdressers
plus many other small shops.

It is 10-15 minute walk into the heart of Bath (mainly through the beautiful Royal Victoria Gardens), or 3-4 minutes by bus which runs frequently from just across the road.

I hope this review was helpful.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DRYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

I am certainly not stuck up and I visited this B&B as part of a group visit in order for us to all visit family. We booked out three rooms in total and were expecting a basic but clean place to stay. It was £30 per person for the night with an option of a cooked breakfast for £4 extra.... or so it said on the internet.

On arriving I was taken out into the beer garden to a room for myself and my partner. On entering the room there was a smell of cigarettes and beer, but the window was open and the beer garden had a few people in it so I just thought the smell was from there. The landlady then advised that there was milk in the fridge and cereal, which are all in the room, she then said "I don't do a breakfast". I was baffled for a minute but thought I would find out what was agreed as by my sister-in--law who had booked it. The landlady requested we payup now and not in the morning. I agreed to this but asked her for an iron as we would be going out.

The Iron was brought straight to the room but had clearly never been tested and was filthy. The room was generally clean howver the smell did not improve. There was an old fashioned and basic decor and funishings but that would never put me off. The fridge was a 'Fosters Larger' mini fridge but we found this amusing to a degree and decided just to put up with the few issues as we were only staying for the night and did not want to make a fuss.

As we were getting ready the shower was repeatedly going from freezing to boiling and at one point burnt my tummy, I was not impressed as am 6 months pregnant, but again I took a deep breath and decided to just get on with it.

I popped up to my brothers room to speak to him and he told me that the landlady had told him to be out by 10am the next morning as she was going away and didnt have much time to tend to the rooms, he was also told that there is no breakfast as she would still be in bed when we get up!

I ignored the huge cob web hanging from his ceiling as thought at this point it was part of the asthetics.

We then went out for the night....

I the morning I got up and made a cup of tea, but was not impressed with the slight cottage cheese effect in my cup! I telephoned my brother to warn him as he would be feeding their 2 year old son cereal and I didnt want him to get sick, my brother checked his fridge and it was actually unplugged!

At this I decided to leave as we didnt have any idea where the private part of the building was in order to find the landlady.

Room Tip: Not a good place/value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristianBath, Owner at The New Crown Inn and Pub, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
We do our best to give great value for money and must point out that it states on our website that we only provide a light breakfast but a cooked one is available on request. The guest didnt mention they would like a cooked breakfast, if she had we would have cooked one.
As to the point the fridge was turned off. It was definatly on in the morning when I cleaned the room. The little boy could have turned it off when he was playing as its easily done.
The point about having to leave by 10am. Most places you stay ask you to vacate the room by this time. If my guests are leaving on a Sunday they can stay as late as they like. I often have them leave mid afternoon.
Anywhere you stay for one night, as a rule, asks for payment up front because the odd guest will do a runner leaving you out of pocket.
I have thrown the iron away and bought a new one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed here with a friend as we were visiting the Thermae Spa, the room was comfortable and clean and Penny made us feel very welcome. Was only a 20 minute from the city centre, this accommodation is great value for money and would recommend to anyone visiting bath for a short break. There is off street parking but sometimes busy so may need to park a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed with two friends for one night (Saturday) at the New Crown. Most B&Bs and guesthouses in Bath only accept bookings for at least two nights over a weekend so this place was ideal. The room was clean and functional and gave us everything we needed. Very affordable and good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.9 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#65 of 160 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Walton Villa Bath
#96 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#19 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Crown Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Crown Inn and Pub

Property: The New Crown Inn and Pub
Address: New Crown 21 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The New Crown Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing