We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BREAKFAST AND FRIENDLY STAFF”
Review of Boston Tea Party

Boston Tea Party
Ranked #4 of 41 Coffee & Tea in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: American, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Boston Tea Party is a small family owned independent cafe group serving simple well-prepared food & drinks made with great ingredients, skill and love. Ethically sourced, affordable, feel-good & excellent quality - made from scratch onsite everyday by people who care about what they do. Bath is our smallest & possibly busiest cafe with rarely a spare seat & usually a queue out the door. The quintessential place to watch the world go by, perfectly perched on the edge of a busy Bath square with loads of outside seating & near all the gorgeous Georgian stuff that makes Bath so popular.
Wales
Level Contributor
285 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST AND FRIENDLY STAFF”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in Bath for 3 days and we decided not to have breakfast at the Francis Hotel. Instead, we went to this place everyday. The breakfast was delicious and the service good.

Main problem: terribly crowded and very small. Not much space to move. However, you will have a treat if you can put up with this inconvenience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Social Media Representative at Boston Tea Party, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It's very gratifying to hear our breakfasts were more enticing than the hotel's! Our size is always a sticking point - whilst it can be neat and cosy, it can also be a tiny bit cramped. We're glad that you stuck it out and feel that the breakfasts were worth the slight overcrowding problem we sometimes encounter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    163
    36
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favourite Hangouts when visiting Bath”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an independent Coffee chain (I think they have five of them or so) that serves great coffee and teas as well as amazing goodies - their Gluten Free Brownies are so rich and scrumptious, you will savour every calorie.
The cafe is staffed with students, who are amiable and try hard to please. The food - Breakfast all day, healthy salads, etc, can be amazing and it can also be not so amazing depending on good luck, but that's kind of the charm of this place. You might have to wait for a seat, but they usually become available if you are slightly patient and it is definitely worth the wait.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Social Media Representative at Boston Tea Party, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We are indeed an independent chain, though our numbers have grown to thirteen stores, with a fourteenth due in February 2014. We strive to make sure that we are consistently amazing, but it warms the soul to hear that when we don't get it quite right, you still find it charming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favourite hangout in Bath!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location!
Fantastic coffee every time!
Really great when the staff there remember how you like your coffee time after time and they put up with your little requests.
Well done the staff at The Boston Tea Party!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodman1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Social Media Representative at Boston Tea Party, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We constantly babble on in our responses about how we pride ourselves on great customer service and it's especially nice to have one of our regulars singing our praises here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

On two wet weekend mornings we found refuge in this cafe/restaurant not too far from Queen Square. Gluten- and caffeine-free usually equates with insipid but the excellent high-roast coffee with toast and fruit-packed jam – though simple enough – were just right. Unfatty back bacon, roast tomatoes and moist scrambled egg made for a very good cooked breakfast. Every element was just right. The young staff seem keen and evidently pay attention to detail.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flaneur47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Social Media Representative at Boston Tea Party, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We strive to provide the highest quality products and cater to as many dietary requirements as possible, so it is extremely gratifying to hear that we have succeeded on all counts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Welcome coffee”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Dropped in here for a coffee on a very wet Sunday evening. Nice that there was a coffee shop still open at 5pm on a Sunday night as a lot of them were closed.

The decaf coffee was excellent as was the fully caffeinated! Cosy atmosphere and friendly, welcoming staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Social Media Representative at Boston Tea Party, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are indeed one of the few cafés around the remains open, on a Sunday we're here until seven in the evening! We're very glad we managed to make such a wet and dreary Sunday evening a pleasant one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Tea Party also viewed

 

Been to Boston Tea Party? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing