We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Short Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fashion Museum

Fashion Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.90*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #11 of 155 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Fashion Museum Bath holds and develops a world-class collection of historical fashionable dress, with which it presents informative and engaging exhibitions and displays and, through the (pre-booked) Fashion Museum Study Facilities, provides opportunities for audiences to engage with the museum collection.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Worth a Short Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have no personal interest in couture or high fashion, but I find this place really interesting. This was our second visit in 4 years. It is not big so it can be visited really quickly.

There is currently a display of about 50 dresses over a 300 year period. The audio guide gives you a short statement about each dress and really helps you to understand a bit about the world of high fashion.

The kids love the opportunity to dress up in regency style clothes.

We bought a joint ticket for the fashion museum and the roman baths from the tourist information centre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrthom1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    372
    138
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Fashion Museum is the one place in Bath that offers a constant draw. The main galleries are superb and offer many interpretations on fashion from the 1700s onwards. I am delighted that the Museum has taken the brave stance of moving away from displaying fashionable dress in chronological order; this more modern approach offers the potential for questioning and closer inspection of the garments.
The bookshop is a bit too good, so be prepared to buy lots, and the café offers the best cake in Bath. I love just walking around and imagining what it was like to live in Georgian times as well as adding to my library.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Astounding collection of fashion pieces from today back to the 1700's. the audio guide is a must with really interesting historical information and anecdotes. Plus trying on the corsets and outfits and the end is fun and great for photos.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you like fashion, this is a "can't miss" attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My son accompanied me - probably just because he didn't want me to have to go on my own - but he did find much of it interesting so long as we did not linger too long. The exhibits were not their usual as they were celebrating a milestone (anniversary?) The exhibits we saw were like a "best of" their collection. I loved seeing the beautiful designs and exquisite fabrics used. Collection included antiquities to modern. Saw one of Queen Victoria's mourning gowns. A unique set of exhibits showed pieces of the museum's collections and how they are stored - cool since a museum's collections are seldom all on display . One could see some pieces that were officially "off display" while getting a glimpse behind the scenes. See this if you are one who likes fashion or history. Note that you can save money by buying a combo ticket at the Roman Bath's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bostontomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Informative..well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The displays were well organized. the free audio guide fully explained the history of the garments and designers and was easier to retain than displays with three paragraphs of text which are difficult to read.
The Laura Ashly retrospective was beautiful it brought her beautiful designs to life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fashion Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fashion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing