We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poorly laid out”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fashion Museum

Fashion Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.01*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #11 of 155 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Fashion Museum Bath holds and develops a world-class collection of historical fashionable dress, with which it presents informative and engaging exhibitions and displays and, through the (pre-booked) Fashion Museum Study Facilities, provides opportunities for audiences to engage with the museum collection.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poorly laid out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was excited to see this, but it didn't really tell a story as I had hoped. It didn't make the clothing come alive. Much of it was mismatched all stuck together in one glass case from all different eras, and the audio guide didn't really tell a broad story, it just gave sort of dry details on each of the pieces. It was a bit overwhelming. The clothing and costumes, however, were of course beautiful. It was also sort of poorly laid out, and the gift shop didn't have much that was unique to the museum.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuBK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    375
    138
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Given the fact that Bath is a regency city I was disappointed that the amount of 'old' clothes on display. Why there were clothes from 2013 was a little lost on me.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chilliexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
220 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Even my boyfriend enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My boyfriend sighed when I said I wanted to combine the Roman Baths with the Fashion Museum but he ended up quite enthralled. Housed in the famed Assembly Rooms you get 2 attractions in the one place.
The exhibits are well laid out and there is an audio guide.I especially enjoyed dressing up in the Victorian costumes. Tea and cake in the cafe rounded off the visit nicely..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MistressWeatherwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The whole family will enjoy the museum, lots to see. Location is close to city centre, just a short walk to a most enjoyable attraction
It really is worth visiting

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful Exhibits, but small!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a great time at the Bath Fashion Museum, the exhibits are well-laid out and interesting, and we found all of the costumes and information fantastic! The location of the museum is great, only a few minutes walk from the Roman Baths, and the combo ticket makes it a great deal to see both in one day. Leave yourself about 1.5hrs for the Roman Baths and about 45min for the Fashion Museum. Our only complaint was that we were surprised at how small it was, there was a short exhibit on 50 top dresses from the collection, then a small section on 19th century historical, then a short section on modern 20th century. We were surprised not to see any menswear at all in the museum even though they supposedly have an extensive collection of all kinds of pieces. We only needed 45min to see everything. So overall it was beautifully laid out and very interesting, but very short!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fashion Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fashion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing