We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Collection”
Review of Fashion Museum

Fashion Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.13*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #11 of 156 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Fashion Museum Bath holds and develops a world-class collection of historical fashionable dress, with which it presents informative and engaging exhibitions and displays and, through the (pre-booked) Fashion Museum Study Facilities, provides opportunities for audiences to engage with the museum collection.
Bristol
Level Contributor
204 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Collection”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was my second visit to the Fashion Museum in Bath and both times I have been wowed by the collection. There is always a special exhibition going on which is worth seeing and the permanent collection is just wonderful too.
When entering the Museum you are offered a free audio guide, which I have to say I wasn't very impressed with and didn't really end up using much. About half way though the tour there is a chance to dress up in vintage clothing which is a lot of fun, but you do have to wait try stuff on, especially on a Saturd
All in all the Fashion Museum is a great place to visit whether you are in to fashion or not and the museum shop is full of some wonderful books and tips to start making your own fashion pieces.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank r_dunmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    379
    140
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“check what's open before buying ticket”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We didn't go in the first time we went to the museum because the Assembly Rooms were closed for a function. The web site is no help, it just advises visitors to ring before visiting to check what's open. The second time we went, the sandwich board outside had 'open' next to everything so bought our tickets - only then were we told that the ballroom could not be visited because it was being set up for a function, but we would be able to look at the chandeliers. Peeping at a chandelier through a door someone had left open we were hustled away so even a peep wasn't possible. If you want to see everything, don't rely on the sign outside and check before buying your ticket (especially if you live on the other side of the world and won't have the opportunity to call again another day or year). Apart from that, a wonderful visit. With outfits from 1660 to 2013 there's something for everyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank profecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The study table was a treat!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I came specifically to book a study table, a great extra service the museum offers. I had 3 2-hour sessions studying Regency-era dress and I was not disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port moody, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“You do not need to be a fashionista to appreciate”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Clothes tell you a lot about people, whether you are a fashionista or not this was an educational walk through the closets of the past. With a free audio guide explaining the history of garments and shorts about the lifestyles of those who wore them, this museum was very interesting.

We even dressed up in Victorian dress in the interactive portion of the museum. Extremely fun!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
600 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 752 helpful votes
“Very interesting - suprisingly so !”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am not that into fashion but we had a very enjoyabke morning visit here - lots to see and do and I must admit I was fascinated y the exhibitions. Well worth a walk up to the top of town

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fashion Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fashion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing