We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hens and Feathers!”
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boathouse
Ranked #84 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Nenagh, Co Tipperary
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hens and Feathers!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We arrived at The Boathouse having had a long journey, both tired and weary. Because we arrived at 8.30am we were told that we couldn't go to our room until after 2pm which was understandable, so we had some breakfast and took the Park and Ride facility (just down the road from the hotel) into Bath where we took not one, but two bus tours of Bath. We returned to the hotel at 2pm and went straight to the room which had been allocated to us when we checked in at 8.30am. I decided to go for a rest as I was very tired and my partner sat on the fabulous balcony and read the newspaper for a while. I was suddenly awoken from a deep sleep by the telephone ringing loudly, to be asked what name I had booked the room under (and my partner also told me that someone had entered the room while I was sleeping) which, since I was already settled into the room I felt was very unprofessional and also uncalled for. After all, what were they going to do, ask me to vacate the room that I had been sleeping in all afternoon! They said that I had been allocated the wrong room, but as I had booked a room with a balcony and a view of the river (which is what I got), how wrong can it have been! We were in Bath for a wedding and we were meeting up with friends that evening, so we booked a table for 4 people for 7pm which was just as well as the place was packed all night. The food was good but the service was very slow. There was a party of well behaved "hens" in the restaurant, wearing black feathers which were still in evidence next morning when we came down for breakfast. The breakfast was very good, but the service was slow and as we had to get ready to go to a wedding it was all a bit rushed. I would return to The Boathouse again, despite the slow service and the confusion with my room allocation, because the scenery was fabulous, the jazz music wafting up from the beer garden was fabulous the food was good and in general the staff were very nice and helpful. The downside was that on the night we were there two of the toilets in the Ladies section were blocked and the toilets were generally very badly presented and untidy. This is a fabulous venue and could be a fabulous hotel with just a little bit of TLC.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Avon river as they are very well appointed and it would be such a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaD3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    139
    60
    42
    46
See reviews for
91
221
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Another place with lots of twisting corridors and "fire doors" which are a damn nuisance when you are trying to get heavy bags from your car to your room. That said, it is a very attractive place, with very nice food and friendly staff. The location is lovely, in its proximity to the river, its beautiful beer garden, and its proximity to the short "Park and Ride" bus trip into Bath.

When we were shown our room, I was immediately disappointed to find that one of the bedside tables (double bed) had apparently gone missing. The first night, I used a footstool (supplied as a seat for the small desk) as a substitute.

The day after our check-in, I hoped that the fact I had moved the footstool to be a "pretend" bedside table, might have clued somebody in that the bedside table itself was missing, when our room was made up. It didn't.

The delivery of food in the restaurant is slow. On the other hand, it is very nice food. So we weren't worried on the second night when dinner took some time to arrive. Dessert, however, just never turned up. We asked to ensure we weren't billed for it, and abandoned the idea.

The place is fairly obviously a "no expenses spared" establishment, so I'm sure the cost of a bedside table wouldn't send them broke. And there is no excuse for a dessert going missing, especially given that this was a VERY quiet night in the restaurant.

Disappointing.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with balconies and a nice view, which we couldn't afford. Maybe they look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zummerzet
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I arranged a retirement party for a friend as a surprise including a room for the night for him and his wife. The staff were very acommodating and helped spring the surprise, the meal for twelve was fantastic and we all agreed that we would really love to stay here as well. I think the secret of our fantastic evening was mostly due to The Boathouse staff who are to be commended for excellent but not overpowering attention - Well done and thanks to all

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rixiq151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The greatest thing is for sure the big balcony approaching the river.
Very peaceful and calming view.

2 drawbacks:
- The beds was not the very comfortable, hard spring old bed.
- The shower handle was broken, and needed fiddling in order to work, so was the poor water pressure.

All together we enjoyed our stay for those who are looking for a quiet place very close to Bath center. it's only 5 min' away by car.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Fabulous location...Lovely room with a big balcony ..big spacious bed..n clean as well..would definitely go back...one grouse though..u may have to wait for really long if you want a table at the pub on a saturday evening

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikramG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went to The Boathouse in June 2014 for a family party of 23 people in honour of one of the guest's 90th birthday.

From the first contact we had with the pub, the staff - particularly Phoebe - were all friendly and helpful. They sent us through a menu in advance from which everyone was able to make their choices for starter and main course and they happily accommodated late changes to our selections.

When we arrived they were perfectly happy to work with us to set up the lovely conservatory exactly how we wanted it and then add the glasses and cutlery to what we'd done. The location of the conservatory was great - right next to the garden, overlooking the river and with plenty of space for the kids to run around.

In spite of our party arriving in dribs and drabs up to an hour later than we'd said, the staff just held the food until we were ready, supplying drinks and continuing to be helpful and friendly throughout. When we finally all turned up and the food started it was also great - delicious and very nicely presented. They even recorded where everyone was sitting and brought the right food directly to the right table (we'd set up 4 altogether). After 6 hours, a lovely meal and a few speeches, we managed to extract the last few stragglers and pay the very reasonable bill.

We had a really wonderful time and wouldn't have changed a thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agentwhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at this pub. On arriving the toilet seat was very loose we reported it to one of the contract cleaners and was never reported. Dust on the top of head board, dusty full length mirror, bathroom floor disgusting all the white grouting black, instead of cleaning properly just moped and left. The breakfast was very nice but don't book a trip you WILL miss the bus very very very SSSSLOW. As a pub great as for hotel the manager needs to show the contact cleaners who is the boss and check there work. Would we stay there again NO.

Room Tip: Check that your room IS clean first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.6 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
3.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#18 of 157 in Bath
919 reviews
4.4 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With landscaped gardens and picturesque views over the River Avon, this pub offers individually designed guest accommodation. Parking is free on site, and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.The Boathouse has a large raised deck with scenic river views, and the garden leads down to the water. Outdoor seating is available for al fresco dining in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.Guests can enjoy a range of real ales, and there is a carefully selected wine list. Hearty food is available in the restaurant, made from high-quality local ingredients. A full English breakfast is also available each morning.Central Bath can be reached in under 10 minutes by car. The Roman Baths are 3 miles from The Boathouse, and Bath Spa Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away. The Newbridge park & ride is right next door with direct buses into Bath centre every 12 mins 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing