We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening out”
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boathouse
Ranked #74 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We tried the boathouse for the first time just recently and wish we had done so sooner, we regularly visit family in the area but have missed this place in the past.
The food was presented beautifully, tasted even better and the banter with the landlord was great fun ... Very funny guy for a Welshman ( no offence meant to other welsh people !).
We will definitely return again and would advise everyone gives it a try
Well done!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 496 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent five days over the New Year period at the Boathouse. Excellent location next to a park and ride which was very convenient for visiting the centre of Bath. Room was spacious and clean. There was a lovely balcony attached to our room but it was locked for some reason, probably the weather. Had a few meals in the restaurant all of which were delicious - I even managed to get a recipe for one of the soups. Staff were friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place as a relaxing break. The only complaint was the weather - it didn't stop raining! We wondered at one stage if the Avon was going to break its banks, luckily it didn't.

Room Tip: Room No. 5 has the balcony which would be lovely in the summertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Boathouse on New Years Eve 2012, only £85.00 for a double room with breakfast. The Hotel is right next to the river and has lovely views. The accomadation is very good, apart from the shower which has poor water pressure. Room was great otherwise. Food was very good, beer excellent, staff polite. Well worth visiting. Only ten minutes on the bus to the centre of Bath.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good little stopover hotel, the rooms (especially ones with balcony) are lovely; rowers, swans, cormorants, ducks etc all go past - very peaceful. Comfortable and contemporary, the complimentary chocolates, tea/coffee all add to the homely feel of this hotel. Very modern TV's. Good quality housekeeping every day.
Breakfast was very tasty, one very little thing though, if you order tea, you get a lovely big china pot, if it's coffee, just one cup. Every morning (without fail) there was at least one poor person trying to find a waiter to get more coffee!
I found food in the pub downstairs fine, no complaints.
Park&Ride is immediately next door, £3 return into the centre, perfect.
Cosy and homely. Good stopover choice for some serious Bath shopping!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms-and have tea at breakfast! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkymuffinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our second visit to The Boathouse after having a really good stay last december. Yet again we were very impressed with the room! The room was beautifully decorated and very spacious, we had not booked a balcony room, but got one! Lovely views on the frosty morning when we woke up.
The little extra touches always impress me in the room, the chocolates, and toiletries in the bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening, the food was good, but not as good as last year, the staff are always friendly and welcoming though.
Breakfast was again good, although we did have to ask a few times for different bits and bobs, such as bowls for cereal etc. But the breakfast room is a lovely setting, so the little things were not a problem.
I would definitely recommend The Boathouse if visiting Bath city centre. It is right next to the park and ride, which only costs £3 for a return. Ideal for christmas shopping!
The food slightly disappointed but apart from that, a lovely stay, lovely location and great value! Would recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I arrived at the Boathouse thinking what a lovely setting. went into the bar greeted friendly and shown to our room. very comfortable for longer than over night stay. Breakfast the following Sunday morning casually served well presented good flavors.We decided to have lunch that with some friends. we had one tuna well presented but over cooked, the reminder of our party had the roasts, the meat was thickly sliced on watery over cooked vegetables, inedible our plates were cleared quickly without any interaction from the service staff.the following morning the breakfast was very disappointing the portions had become very small no seasoning on tomato the grilled portabello mushroom had become sliced and steamed, one sausage (bloated as if finished in microwave)with one small curled up slice of bacon . Against me instincts i had dinner that night. we arrived at 20:00hrs to a quite Bar three staff in deep conversation we were ignored until 20:25hrs. we ordered the Fish and Chips and the Boar Burger with a bottle of wine
which was presented at the table the foil roughly hacked off and then cork pulled and then shoved back in pushed towards me the scruffy waiter turned and walked away with out a word.
the food arrived a short time later all i can say is the maris piper chips very good.
the final morning my sausage was sour, waited twenty minutes no one to complain to. on checking out the lady was not interested in talking,ie how was your stay thank you or even a smile, she was too distracted by something in a different direction from me.saying all this I would recommend the accommodation with no breakfast.

Room Tip: the rooms with balcony best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just return from a 1 night stay-paid £85 and booked through booking.com. We had a standard double room but if I was staying longer or stayed in the summer I would have gone for a room with a balcony.

10 min drive from city centre and rec'd a very warm welcome from the staff- we were shown to our room and were pleased as it was warm and inviting with a huge bed! The room and bathroom were very clean (apart from the shower curtain that was covered in mould - let the room down).

We went down to the bar and had a meal and a few drinks -food was good but may be a little over priced for what it was. Breakfast was good and value for money along with a lovely view. We found all the staff to be very helpful.

We would recommend this hotel and return next time we go to Bath.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
7.0 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#17 of 155 in Bath
959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Address: Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $117 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With landscaped gardens and picturesque views over the River Avon, this pub offers individually designed guest accommodation. Parking is free on site, and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.The Boathouse has a large raised deck with scenic river views, and the garden leads down to the water. Outdoor seating is available for al fresco dining in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.Guests can enjoy a range of real ales, and there is a carefully selected wine list. Hearty food is available in the restaurant, made from high-quality local ingredients. A full English breakfast is also available each morning.Central Bath can be reached in under 10 minutes by car. The Roman Baths are 3 miles from The Boathouse, and Bath Spa Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away. The Newbridge park & ride is right next door with direct buses into Bath centre every 12 mins 7 days a week ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing