We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boathouse
Ranked #89 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just return from a 1 night stay-paid £85 and booked through booking.com. We had a standard double room but if I was staying longer or stayed in the summer I would have gone for a room with a balcony.

10 min drive from city centre and rec'd a very warm welcome from the staff- we were shown to our room and were pleased as it was warm and inviting with a huge bed! The room and bathroom were very clean (apart from the shower curtain that was covered in mould - let the room down).

We went down to the bar and had a meal and a few drinks -food was good but may be a little over priced for what it was. Breakfast was good and value for money along with a lovely view. We found all the staff to be very helpful.

We would recommend this hotel and return next time we go to Bath.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    126
    52
    37
    38
See reviews for
75
200
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have just come back from staying at the Boathouse. I went to visit my nephew who's at univ there. We stayed one night. Our rooms as spotless and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and even though it was very busy the staff were very helpful. We both had steak which was excellent.The breakfast in the morning was lovely, with a beautiful setting in the dinning room over looking the river. Our whole experience at the Boathouse was excellent in every way. I travel a lot over the world and the uk every year, and I was really impressed with The Boathouse. The beds very comfortable, the room lovely and quiet at night. All the staff we spoke to were all excellent. Very helpful and friendly will defiantly be coming back to stay and will be recommending this place to my family and friends. The whole place was really spotless and you cant say that about alot of places nowadays.Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Booked for a one night stay whilst visiting Bath en route elsewhere. A super choice as the hotel / pub is situated only approx 10 minutes drive from the centre of Bath but it is situated on the banks of the River Avon at the edge of the city development. A pub / restaurant with rooms but very modern and characterful. Rooms are on the first floor but there is a lift. Some rooms face to the river giving wonderful views across the river and open countryside. Our room had a balcony from which you looked across this view and whilst nice in the winter this must be wonderful in the summer months.The room was very well presented and roomy with a 6' very comfortable bed. Recently decorated.
The bar and some of the restaurant areas are heated by wood burning stoves which gave a very welcoming atmosphere, when lit. The evening meal menu was fairly extensive but the quality of the food did not match the expectations from the menu. The same applied at Breakfast when the cereal choices were the small cereal boxes, only one fruit juice choice and a seeming surprise at a request for additional toast.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again if visiting Bath as we found that the hotel is next to the Park & Ride for the city and would be very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdwcarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Must say absolutely amazing hotel! Room was exceptional (with balcony over looking a nearby river), decor was very nautical but lovely and the staff were really helpful. Food and service of a very high standard, with rooms cleaned daily. Free Wi-fi easily accessible, with a Mac to enable TV viewing/internet access.

On-site park and ride service takes you to nearby city of Bath, but parking not too much if an issue if you take your vehicle. Well worth a look and am definitely planning to go again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisterofmercy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Freshly decorated and looking good for next years season, that was our first impression of The Boathouse. Although some of the decorators were still working on the building, this didn't spoil our visit here. We ate a hearty breakfast each morning, and stayed for dinner one evening, which was good and priced right!
The staff were polite, but not over friendly. The only member of the team who gave the impression that she was not happy to work there was unfortunatly behind the bar! Not the place to be if you've forgotten how to smile, I**y.
Parking was free to guests, and the car park was plenty big enough. A 100 metre walk to the park and ride - brilliant.
View from the balcony over the river Avon must be wonderful in sping or summer, because ity's nice in autmn!
Would recommend and go afgain, that says it all I think.

Room Tip: Go for a room away from the noise of the kitchen extractors - they are really noisy until about 11pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked 2 night stay through booking.com costing 85 pound a night. Our room didnt have a balcony but it was still spacious, clean comfy and freshly decorated. Didnt eat in the bar/restaurant but did drink there and it has a nice atmosphere and being right on the river it was a good setting for a relaxing break. Breakfast was good cereals/fryup. Its in a good location as parking in bath is a nightmare at times and expensive and this hotel is next to the park and ride, buses into the city every 15 mins which is handy. We parked our car and left it at the hotel and just used the park and ride service. There is no reception you just go to the bar and ask to check in and your taken upstairs where there is a desk at the entrance to the corridor of the rooms but this did not put me off as its a really nice place. Coffee and tea in the rooms also they have a mac tv which was good cause you can go on the net with it aswell. only thing i didnt like was there was painting going on and on our second day the lad painting was painting our window off a scissor lift out side looking in so i closed the curtains and had to wait for him to finish...... lack of privacy or what !!!

Also toilet seat was broke that they already knew about but didnt fix but apart from that we had a great stay and would recommend and return for sure. Maybe next time in one of the rooms looking over the river with a big balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowesy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Well located on lovely riverbank, next door to park and ride, this is a great option for visiting Bath. Room was a good size with large, well equipped, clean bathroom, iMac, free wifi. Breakfast was good, staff obliging albeit often AWOL.. Would recommend for families especially.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank YMLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 6 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.1 mi away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#1 of 1 in Tunley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#50 of 192 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bath Mill Lodge Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With landscaped gardens and picturesque views over the River Avon, this pub offers individually designed guest accommodation. Parking is free on site, and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.The Boathouse has a large raised deck with scenic river views, and the garden leads down to the water. Outdoor seating is available for al fresco dining in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.Guests can enjoy a range of real ales, and there is a carefully selected wine list. Hearty food is available in the restaurant, made from high-quality local ingredients. A full English breakfast is also available each morning.Central Bath can be reached in under 10 minutes by car. The Roman Baths are 3 miles from The Boathouse, and Bath Spa Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away. The Newbridge park & ride is right next door with direct buses into Bath centre every 12 mins 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing