We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent get away!”
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boathouse
Ranked #95 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An excellent get away!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Must say absolutely amazing hotel! Room was exceptional (with balcony over looking a nearby river), decor was very nautical but lovely and the staff were really helpful. Food and service of a very high standard, with rooms cleaned daily. Free Wi-fi easily accessible, with a Mac to enable TV viewing/internet access.

On-site park and ride service takes you to nearby city of Bath, but parking not too much if an issue if you take your vehicle. Well worth a look and am definitely planning to go again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisterofmercy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    134
    59
    42
    43
See reviews for
82
211
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Freshly decorated and looking good for next years season, that was our first impression of The Boathouse. Although some of the decorators were still working on the building, this didn't spoil our visit here. We ate a hearty breakfast each morning, and stayed for dinner one evening, which was good and priced right!
The staff were polite, but not over friendly. The only member of the team who gave the impression that she was not happy to work there was unfortunatly behind the bar! Not the place to be if you've forgotten how to smile, I**y.
Parking was free to guests, and the car park was plenty big enough. A 100 metre walk to the park and ride - brilliant.
View from the balcony over the river Avon must be wonderful in sping or summer, because ity's nice in autmn!
Would recommend and go afgain, that says it all I think.

Room Tip: Go for a room away from the noise of the kitchen extractors - they are really noisy until about 11pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked 2 night stay through booking.com costing 85 pound a night. Our room didnt have a balcony but it was still spacious, clean comfy and freshly decorated. Didnt eat in the bar/restaurant but did drink there and it has a nice atmosphere and being right on the river it was a good setting for a relaxing break. Breakfast was good cereals/fryup. Its in a good location as parking in bath is a nightmare at times and expensive and this hotel is next to the park and ride, buses into the city every 15 mins which is handy. We parked our car and left it at the hotel and just used the park and ride service. There is no reception you just go to the bar and ask to check in and your taken upstairs where there is a desk at the entrance to the corridor of the rooms but this did not put me off as its a really nice place. Coffee and tea in the rooms also they have a mac tv which was good cause you can go on the net with it aswell. only thing i didnt like was there was painting going on and on our second day the lad painting was painting our window off a scissor lift out side looking in so i closed the curtains and had to wait for him to finish...... lack of privacy or what !!!

Also toilet seat was broke that they already knew about but didnt fix but apart from that we had a great stay and would recommend and return for sure. Maybe next time in one of the rooms looking over the river with a big balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowesy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Well located on lovely riverbank, next door to park and ride, this is a great option for visiting Bath. Room was a good size with large, well equipped, clean bathroom, iMac, free wifi. Breakfast was good, staff obliging albeit often AWOL.. Would recommend for families especially.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank YMLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely one night stay in room 2. Very well appointed room with super king bed Apple TV, tea, coffee and water. Private balcony overlooking the river Avon. Decor very modern, the en suite was also clean and modern with nice toiletries provided.
Breakfast was good but not a huge choice of cold options just cereal.
This is just a pub with rooms so no check in desk or room service and there was no information in our room, but this did detract from our stay. Ate in the restuarant very good fish and chips.

Room Tip: Room 2 facing the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked direct through the Brains (brewery) website a superior room for £150 per night on a bed and breakfast basis. Lesser (standard) rooms were £120 per room per night while the riverside rooms with balcony were £140 per HEAD - ie £240 per room/night for B&B.

We found our way to the bar (there being no reception desk or even notice indicating where arriving guests should go to be checked in) and eventually the barman/manager appeared and led us upstairs to check in. No porter or help with bags, but there is a lift if you can find it. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the side lawn. It was a large and well provided room, with an en-suite bathroom (2 sinks - nice, when both of us want to be getting ready at the same time) and an Apple Mac which provided both internet, TV and radio. On the face of it, a good room. However, when night fell we found the bed had only a bottom sheet, and no under sheet or comfort fleece over the mattress; the was no writing paper; the top of the (open) clothes hanging space was FILTHY, and these two issues reflected the general standard of housekeeping as far as we could see. Breakast in the morning was slow and most of the food cold - but your eggs are cooked the way you like them. No, sorry, that is an exaggeration: the menus said 'eggs' (plural) but in fact we got only one each. One of everything; one half of a tomatato (cooked, but cold), one mushroom (cooked but cold), one sausage, one rasher of bacon and one poached, runny egg - just how I like my egg(s). In truth there was only one (so far as we could see) waiter to deal with 18 persons for breakfast, so he was working fairly hard, but for all the speed - or lack - of it, that breakfast was served at, he could have been doing the cooking too!

I know this is Bath and hotels can command a premium, but with that you might expect a bit of an effort towards a premium service, especially for £150 per night B&B right on the outskirts of the city. This establishment gets around the customer service expectations by describing itself not as an hotel or even a B&B; it simply describes itself on it's menu card as 'a riverside pub with rooms'. Well, at least they are not being pretentious. Except in their pricing policy, of course. It is a good average B&B, with - in the case of superior rooms - large and well appointed rooms with decent facilities but at £150 it felt a bit like 'because it's Bath' exploitation. £90 would have been fairer, which is what we paid in a 4 star hotel for B&B in central Bilbao recently when we visted the Guggenheim Art Gallery, albeit the breakfast was self-serve and buffet style, but it was all hot..

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 3 and 4 overlook the river at £140 per person per night. Room 5 had largest balcony overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarface347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in room 9 in Sept 2012

First off, neither the booking website or hotel website lists the room's amenities so this is below.

Room contains:
Kettle, tea / coffee and biscuits
Bowl of cadbury eclairs
2 x bottles of water (1 still, 1 sparkling)
Hairdryer (with attachments)
Full length mirror
Apple tv / computer (inc dvd player)

Bathroom contains shower bath with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel provided. Also has 2 x shaver sockets.

Overall the room was modern and seemed finished to a good standard. There was fan noise from outside the window from the kitchen below but this ceased when the pub closed. The apple tv was a nice touch, but although there are usb sockets it didn't recognise devices plugged into it so we were unable to stream from our tablet. Bathroom nice with a good shower.

Downstairs, the pub is nice enough in the Wetherspoonsy style that modern bars seem to go for - but the outside is lovely, right on the river. We ate there one evening and had burgers which were very nice. Breakfast was also decent - served in the conservatory which is a nice setting. Check in itself was a bit confusing as there are no signs for guests so had to ask at the bar where to go. Having said that, a member of staff was very quick to check us in and show us to our room, and staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.

Location is a few miles out of Bath, but this is not an issue as it is on the main bus route from Bristol to Bath - nearest bus stop about a 5 minute walk away, day rider tickets were £4.10 each which allows unlimited journeys to Bath and back. Last bus back leaves the city centre at 11pm. Alternatively there is the park and ride car park next door to the hotel, but we did not use this as service stops at 8:30pm. This was £2.50 return pp.

Overall, a nice place to stay and would definitely stay there again if we return to Bath. Very affordable - particularly due to free parking and cheap all day bus travel into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandJKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.6 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#49 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#1 of 1 in Tunley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#20 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With landscaped gardens and picturesque views over the River Avon, this pub offers individually designed guest accommodation. Parking is free on site, and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.The Boathouse has a large raised deck with scenic river views, and the garden leads down to the water. Outdoor seating is available for al fresco dining in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.Guests can enjoy a range of real ales, and there is a carefully selected wine list. Hearty food is available in the restaurant, made from high-quality local ingredients. A full English breakfast is also available each morning.Central Bath can be reached in under 10 minutes by car. The Roman Baths are 3 miles from The Boathouse, and Bath Spa Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away. The Newbridge park & ride is right next door with direct buses into Bath centre every 12 mins 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing