We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely weekend in Bath” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henrietta House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Henrietta House
Ranked #14 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
“A lovely weekend in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is, almost without reservation, the best B&B I have ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived we were looked after and made to feel welcome in a very natural and unfussy way. If you have the good fortune to encounter David on the front desk (as we did) you see in him the perfect person for that role - enough said. We were in room 14 on the 1st floor - very neat, clean, sizeable and with some lovely touches of fruit and proper tea and nibbles. No quibbles with this side of things - everything immaculate (although be careful to ask David for the up-to-date wifi password as the one in the bedside brochure doesn't work) and thoughtfully laid out. It would be great if the shower were a stand-alone one as opposed to taps that work from the bath output, as this was tricky to adjust, but a very small quibble only.
Breakfast the next morning was a thing of wonder. It's very rare to be offered a range of items to match what we ate, but even more unusual to be encouraged to order more if we felt hungry (unlikely) or to adapt our cooked breakfasts to the most ludicrous degree, as one couple next to us were gleefully doing. We overheard orders for eggs cooked to the exact fraction of a minute, extra bacon etc. with precise instructions for burnt-ness (is that a word?) and a choice of salted or unsalted butter - I doubt the Ritz allows you to choose this. Pear cake for breakfast? Of course. Home-made bread, granola and jams? Naturally.
If the weather's nice, ask David to give you a map for the Skyline, a 6 mile walk around the hills. Take wellies, as it will be very muddy. Another tip - don't queue for an hour to enter the Thermae Spa, simply walk in, ask to visit the Cross Bath instead, and pop across the road to the small, perfectly formed and secluded openair pool that's heated, as is the whole city, by natural means. This was much more pleasurable than the people soup offered by the larger Spa pools and cheaper, too.
Henrietta House isn't cheap, but we didn't care and you won't, either. A seriously impressive establishment that deserves to be revisited time and time again. Thanks, guys, and sorry for getting mud on your lovely carpets in the foyer.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    165
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
215
532
66
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A beautiful charming hotel in Bath, the decor very quaint, the room spacious. The best breakfast in England was served in this hotel. Great location, close to everything. The service staff very helpful and friendly. This was a lucky find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDetox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the calls to my home before travel to ensure requests placed could be met to the moment we were helped to our car with our luggage this was a great expeirience. Arriving after a difficult journey in a snow bound Bath we were greated with a smile and welcomed with help and support to park and unload.
Our room was large, comfortable, very clean and well equiped and the bath very welcome. It seemed no request was to difficult and maps and further help was on hand to ensure we got to our evenings engagements (dinner and the Theatre).

Breakfast was a delightful return to quality and choice, missing so much theses days from Hotel stays. We enjoyed the specials on a broad Breakfast menu (Carrot and apple juice blended in the kitchen and scrabbled eggs and haddock) I had a great traditional English breakfast fare.
The staff again I must compliment as being attentive and helpful to guests.

We shall defineltly be returning to stay here and am already planning a date which fits with sport for me (racing or rugby) and shopping for my wife.

Room Tip: Larger rooms have Baths Smaller have Showers all great however as we were shown both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed at! The staff were so helpful and friendly and could not have done enough for us. Their service was amazing from parking the cars to dealing with every request asked.
The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable, breakfast was lovely. I was with a group of 9 people and we stayed in and had a meal provided by the B&B, it was lovely and the service was brilliant. The location is excellent, walking distance into town.
If you are going to bath this place is a must...I know I will be back.
Thank you to all the staff for making our weekend so special, you have an amazing place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had to organise a birthday weekend away for a friend who has high standards and this place exceeded all expectations, honestly one of the nicest places I have stayed with friendly, professional staff.

-Prior to our arrival the staff were happy to have regular discussions about our requirements, we changed numbers repeatedly and made demanding menu requests and even asked for a CD player to be there on arrival, this was all met with no difficulties.
-On arrival we were met with a warm welcome by David and were allowed to check in early whist staff parked our cars.
-The rooms were beautiful, very clean and well equipped with sympathetic decoration. Beds were comfy and attentions detail including home made biscuits were very welcome. I must also mention the shower which was the best I have had.
- we we given local info and David booked taxi's for us.
-as it was a birthday we had arranged a murder mystery company to come to the B&B. David and the rest of the team gave us a private area downstairs and catered for us. The food was delicious and personalised. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough including helping us with decorations.
- Breakfast the next day was fantastic, all locally sourced and home made food- delicious.
-The location was perfect, very close to town and located on an attractive road by Henrietta park.

Overall a wonderful,homely place to stay, all of the party raved about it and have said they will be returning. I want to give a glowing review as they deserve it but I want to keep this gem of a place secret for myself!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gravy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I came to stay as a surprise visit on my hen party. We wanted something classy, friendly and welcoming and thats exactly what we got. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms were pefectly clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I was amazed by a valet service plus we had dinner there in the evening (which is possible by special arrangement) and it was delicious. The icing on the cake is the location from the town centre, only a three minute walk, its brilliant. I really cant say enough about this place Ill be recommending it to everyone as we had a wonderful stay - Ill certainly be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a small double which was ideal and perfectly formed but I did see some of the larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The lovely room was very comfortable and impeccably clean, the breakfast menu was superb and they willingly catered for my gluten-free friend. The location is excellent with a short walk from the centre. We highly recommend Henrietta House and hope to go back ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SH972013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henrietta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henrietta House

Property: Henrietta House
Address: 33 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Henrietta House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henrietta House in Bath is a large, Grade 1 listed, luxury Georgian townhouse located in a quiet central area. It was completely renovated in 2011 to provide boutique Bed and Breakfast / Guest House accommodation. Privately owned, Henrietta House aims to provide customers with an excellent personal service. Please contact us if you have any specific requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Henrietta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henrietta House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing