We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary”
Review of Henrietta House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henrietta House
Ranked #12 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and had a great time. It is a typical classy Bath house in Georgian style. We had a large room on the first floor; worth paying the extra.

The breakfasts were really good, with interesting items on the menu. There is a "juice of the day" that is definitely worth trying even if it doesn't sound as though it isn't- carrot and apple one day, carrot and celery the next; both very good. Courgette cake for breakfast doesn't sound right, but it was!

Parking on the street can be tricky finding a spot close by not always possible. The wardrobe in our room had minimal hanging space but there were lots of drawers, so space itself was not an issue.

Staff were uniformly friendly and helpful- we will definitely return.

Room Tip: First floor or higher better probably
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semi_retired_academi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
There are newer reviews for Henrietta House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here as a couple overnight. A quirky, traditional town house with a sense of olde worlde charm this one!! We were warmly welcomed and shown to our rooms promptly. Parking was nearby and £5 for the night. Throughout our stay, the staff were friendly and attentive. The room (number 15) was very comfortable with en suite bathroom. Watch out for the heated towel rail as it is piping hot though!! The only slight criticism I have is that the shutters did not close completely so the light comes in with the sunrise. The location is superb- only 5 minutes by foot and you are in the centre of Bath. The breakfast was nice with a selection of juices, tea and coffee, homemade granola and preserves, croissants, pains au chocolat, ginger cake, yoghurts, fruit salad, toast, artisan breads and a selection of hot dishes (we had the kippers with scrambled eggs and omelette with smoked salmon and sour cream/ chives but there is also a full English, Austrian special with bacon, scrambled eggs, onions and pumpkin oil, buttermilk pancakes, cheese omelette, boiled egg with ham-wrapped soldiers and porridge to choose from as I recall). I debated as to whether Henrietta House is worthy of 4/5 or 5/5 and only awarded the former as I have stayed in an establishment in Bath which I feel was a slightly better overall experience which I awarded 5/5. We had a really lovely stay though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not a B&B but a taste of paradise. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming, efficient and keen to assist. Decor plain and simple and just right for a good restful ethos. Excellent breakfast with a brilliant menu of cooked food. We were constantly asked if we wanted more from the menu even after a full English breakfast .... the pancakes were brilliant. No need for elevenses after a breakfast at Henrietta's.
The hotel has been open for just a year and let's hope the staff can maintain their enthusiasm for looking after the guests; best service I have had in many years.
Well done Henrietta!

Room Tip: Their is a lift so as high up as you can to get a view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellebore_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This lovely hotel has a perfect position in Bath, it is just a short walk to all the main attractions. In addition it is full of character with nicely furnished, spotlessly clean rooms. We booked a large room which was lovely and absolutely enormous. The breakfast was the nicest we have eaten in any hotel. An array of cereals, fresh fruit, pastries and a full menu of delicious cooked alternatives to choose from in addition to the full English breakfast which was absolute perfection. Lovely strong coffee and a special smoothie of the day made from pears and carrots.

The staff are all wonderful, thank you for making our 25th wedding anniversary so special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pettirosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our arrival at this beautiful Georgian townhouse was met with the warmest of welcomes and efficiency, although we were early and had to wait for others to arrive we were treated to teas, coffees, croissants and cake. Our luggage was no problem for the staff. Our room was warm and comfortable despite zero degree weather outside.
5 minute walk takes you to the city centre or the nearest museum (free)
Valet parking, and a lift if you don't fancy the stairs. You couldn't ask for more.
Hanni and her staff couldn't have done more to ensure we had a relaxed and enjoyable stay.
We will certainly return

Room Tip: Very popular Georgian Town House Boutique/ B&B. Take whatever you can get before someone else be...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

In the enchanting city of Bath, amidst Georgian townhouses, historical streets, bridges and the River Avon, with nearby shops, restaurants and pubs, we were lucky enough to stay in this jewel of a boutique Bed & Breakfast. Our week long stay was punctuated by the wonderfully warm people we met in Bath, none more than the amazing staff at Henrietta House. Every request we made was met with support, efficiency and good cheer. Our breakfast were wonderful, especially the Austrian specialty. Our time was so relaxing and carefree and went so quickly that we will be returning to Henrietta House next year. Our sincere thanks to Hanni, Georgia, Dave, Laura, Alex and all the rest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as a couple. Convenient to town centre yet still a quiet neighborhood. Check in was a breeze, despite our room not being ready. They stashed our bags and even took them upstairs for us once the room was ready. Since we were on the top floor that was a real bonus! Were very helpful with maps and directions; phoned for dinner reservations for us too.

Our room was in the attic and though small, was quite nice. Ensuite bathroom was the best we saw on the trip; shower was quite spacious. It was a hike to the top floor, but they reduced the rate for the room because of that. It had everything we needed and was quite charming.

Breakfast was great and included a large variety of pastries and breads, free pressed juices such as carrot-pear in addition to the usual varieties, and some different breakfast variations, such as kippers and scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 32 in Bath
1,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 32 in Bath
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henrietta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henrietta House

Address: 33 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $141 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Henrietta House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henrietta House in Bath is a large, Grade 1 listed, luxury Georgian townhouse located in a quiet central area. It was completely renovated in 2011 to provide boutique Bed and Breakfast / Guest House accommodation. Privately owned, Henrietta House aims to provide customers with an excellent personal service. Please contact us if you have any specific requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Henrietta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henrietta House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing