We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay”
Review of Henrietta House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henrietta House
Ranked #12 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Staff were amazing; they went above and beyond on a number of occasions.  On checking out, they gave me a towel to borrow to save me money at the spa and also kindly let me keep the car permit for an extra few hours to save me the time/cost of having to move it whilst in the spa. Room furnishing was really nice as well as being clean and tidy. Breakfast was the best I've had in this country at a B&B/hotel - freshly squeezed juice, great bread and cheese selection and a lovely veggie cooked breakfast (was very pleasantly surprised that they don't do the usual of putting a rubber/quorn sausage and lots of baked beans in the mix and instead made an real effort) - they also want you to
eat as much as you want and not to leave hungry. Location is perfect - quiet street but yet 30 second walk to Pulteney bridge and the centre of town.  Thanks once again - really made my stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DaveyWavey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
There are newer reviews for Henrietta House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a superb place to stay. Near the city centre, this boutique hotel is brilliant. The rooms are well appointed and the breakfast was second to none. It felt homely but professional.

I stayed with my daughter who has some limited physical access abilities. Two very small points that could be improved is to look again at the moveable access ramp at the property's entrance and get some professional advice on improving it. And the wet room needs a shower stool. The latter would be about a £20 investment.

But don't let this small comment put you off this amazing place. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanCook44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a one Saturday night stay.

The hotel had a prime location within central Bath with the sights and shops in easy walking distance. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The room was very spacious and bright. We were pleasantly surprised to be brought freshly baked cookies and some fruit in the afternoon just after checking in! The room and bathroom was very clean and was well-furnished. The B&B has a lot of character.

We found the room quite noisy at night with people walking past in the street below- I think this was due to there being no double glazing.

Breakfast the next morning was a real feast with freshly cooked food selected from a menu in addition to a continental buffet. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burgessimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had first class service at Henrietta House. Excellent welcome, luggage carried in, car parked for us. Information was given about Bath and on advice, a restaurant booked for our meal that night, because it was a bank holiday. We were personally shown to our room as opposed to being told where it was - a real rarity these days. The room has unique furnishings,with a modern and newly decorated bathroom, and was quiet, even though the hotel is so close to the centre of Bath.
A great breakfast - served until 10.30 so a wonderful lie in and a chance to enjoy the tea,coffee, fresh fruit or biscotti in bed!breakfast had home-made jams and marmalade, freshly made bread and an interesting choice of hot food too. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.
We would return to Bath just to stay in this hotel and because Bath is so lovely of course. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful guest house at the end of May. I cannot tell you how wonderful it was. The house itself is absolutely beautiful and the location is perfect. We had a room on the very top floor overlooking the rooftops of the beautiful city of Bath. The room was stunning - a kingsize bed with fresh white linen, and a beautiful bathroom with a big bath and shower. There were lots of thoughtful touches in the room, like a bottle of Bath Spring Water on the refreshments tray, and the toiletries in the bathroom were some of the nicest I've ever seen!
But what really sets this place aside is the people who work there. The staff are wonderful - friendly, polite, and so very welcoming. When I booked the hotel I mentioned that it was going to be our wedding anniversary while we were there - on the day we came back to find some chocolates and a note from the staff on our bed. How lovely! Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Now, the breakfast. Make sure you are really hungry before you go for breakfast because the choice is fantastic! Cereals are provided in sweet little kilner jars. Every morning there is a new fresh-pressed juice to try along with the traditional apple and orange. Sausages and bacon are provided by a local butcher and they are delicious but I recommend the mushroom omelette - oh my word, I didn't want it to end! The chef cooks everything fresh to order and you can have as much as you like...they keep coming back to try and get you to have some more! There are also kippers, yogurts, and divine home-baked pastries. You certainly won't be hungry when you leave the table.
Bath is a wonderful city and Henrietta House is within very short walking distance of the main attractions. A lovely walk over Pulteney Bridge and you're there - don't miss the Roman Baths and you MUST visit the Thermae Spa...the best four hours you'll ever have!
All in all I cannot praise Henrietta House enough. Don't hesitate to book it, you will fall in love with it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catsbunnytails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a lovely overnight stay and was really surprised by the lovely clean room, friendly staff and great breakfast.
Henrietta Street is within walking distance of the train station, the Roman Baths, restaurants and shops. The house itself was beautiful and like stepping back in time.
We will look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely welcome from David to this very special B&B. Excellent breakfast, lots of choice and friendly, attentive service. Thank you for a lovely stay- we will be back! Especially loved the paintings throughout the house which were an individual touch, worlds away from generic corporate hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henrietta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henrietta House

Address: 33 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $143 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Henrietta House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henrietta House in Bath is a large, Grade 1 listed, luxury Georgian townhouse located in a quiet central area. It was completely renovated in 2011 to provide boutique Bed and Breakfast / Guest House accommodation. Privately owned, Henrietta House aims to provide customers with an excellent personal service. Please contact us if you have any specific requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Henrietta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henrietta House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing