We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location comfortable bed but noisy seagulls! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Bath Central
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a group of friends and it was an ideal location, easy to find from the station and ideally located for bars restaurants and cafés for breakfast the next day. Friendly staff and comfy rooms although they were boiling with no air con sadly. Would defs stay here again if I were in Bath :)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 833 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

This Travelodge has been recently refurbished. Rooms are clean and corporate with everything you need, including 30 mins free wifi (see note below). You cannot fault the central location of this hotel and it is rather nice to stay in a Georgian building in Bath.
Reception staff were friendly, professional and helpful, and the hotel does have a lift.
The hotel is over a nightclub which kicks off around 10pm. Frankly, on 2nd floor and at the front, we heard no music noise and just the usual buzz of people and cars in a city centre, even with window open.
No aircon but windows open (restricted opening for safety) and fans are provided.
Breakfast is not worth it, but plenty of cafes over the road specialising in breakfast and brunch.
Downside is no parking near the hotel so you need to be able to walk with your luggage or get a taxi.
Would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid ground and/or first floor as directly over a nightclub. Second floor up is fine. Rooms at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wisewoman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I understand that this is not a 5 star hotel, however we had some serious issues during our stay which resulted in us leaving a day early and staying 3 nights instead of 4(room 316):
Firstly, we were greeted at reception by a sign saying there was 'no one at reception' and to 'ring for assistance'. After a 15 minute wait, someone showed up to check us in. The receptionist was lovely and told us where to park for a good rate.
Arrived at the room to our door being held open by dirty towels and a carpet which had not been hoovered. Back down to reception to let them know and after another 10 minute wait with no sign of anyone (3pm), we gave up and left the dirty towel on the desk (without speaking to anyone) and headed out to Bath. The location is perfection for anyone visiting Bath.
During our first night the room was unbearably hot because the window barely opens and they have seagulls with young seagulls on the roof who squawk at you ALL NIGHT, I went to shut the window and it actually went to bite me they are extremely noisy and protective.
Back down to reception the next day and we were given a fan and ear plugs- fine.
Woke up the following morning (after another sweltering night with window shut because of seagulls) to discover our tea had not been restocked (sigh).
I stayed here because it was my brother's wedding but sadly I could not get ready in the room as both my partner and I were SWEATING (even with fan) and we were both exhausted from lack of sleep and went home early.
Very, very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the summer, request a fan as they are first come first serve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Briony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent staff who are ready with knowledge or solutions for all reasonable enquiries. Every effort is made to make your stay comfortable. 10 minute walk to most places in Bath. Good eating places nearby. Close to The Crescent and The Circus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend, 5th July, our room (309)was on the third floor and was quite small but as we were only using it to sleep & shower in that was fine. The window doesn't open very much & kept sliding shut so we had to jam it open with a mug! It was a bit stuffy but we got a fan from reception, which kept us comfortable through the night and also drowned out the noise from late night revellers in the street below. The shower isn't the best, not very powerful, but it was clean and did the job. The hotel is a nice old building and is in a great location with easy access to plenty of shops and restaurants. We loved Bath and if we visited again I would certainly consider staying at this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HellsBells39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Being summer and extremely humid we paid over the odds for this hotel room (at a peak time which is understandable) however i dont like paying over the odds for something i feel does not even cover the basics ....this room should have air con as standard and given it was a family room the windows had a lock on so could only be opened slightly.

The only really decent thing about this hotel was the reception staff who were extremely helpful

Room Tip: Dont get a room to close to the ground floor as there is a nightclub situated directly beneath the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Bath Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review Chloe E. We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so it is regrettable to learn that your room was too hot. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. Thank you for staying with us and we assure you that all customer feedback is provided to the hotel directly which helps improve the service they offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

You are warned of noise from the front, there's a nightclub in the basement and bars and a busy road. But no one warns you about them emptying bottle bins out the back or the rowdy staff congregating to smoke in the early hours. Parking difficult

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
7.4 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Central

Address: 1 York Buildings | Broad Street - George Street, Bath BA1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $64 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bath Central 2*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Bath Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Central Hotel Bath
Bath Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Bath
Bath Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing