We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR OLD REDCAR”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“POOR OLD REDCAR”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

Car park very small and tight to get in. Receptionist were ok. Room a bit dirty, floor and bed squeaked. Hot water not very warm. NO FOOD AT THIS HOTEL.SHOULD THEY BE ABLE TO CALL IT A HOTEL WHEN THEY DON T SERVE FOOD!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deccl-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    49
    129
    135
    447
See reviews for
106
244
64
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

I would have to agree with the majority on reviews on here to say that this hotel was quite poor. It is well located in town and served it's purpose as we stayed on a hen do for the weekend. The hotel appears to have a lot of hen and stag do booking and probably for this reason have not bothered to update the decor for several years. The carpets, lobby and bedrooms were all tired looking and not to a great standard. The rooms were fairly small and cramped although relatively comfortable. The bathroom in our room also was in need of updaating and was a bit moldy although otherwise clean. The staff were pleasant. Breakfast was disappointing, basically toast and some tinned fruit! Parking is difficult, as the hotel has a small car park for 10 or so cars and the parking on the street is metered and for a limited time only. I ended up in a long side on the other side of the main center which was ok but probably 10/15 mins walk away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenleyPodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Had read various reviews of this place so wasn't sure what to expect.
The hotel itself is in a good location and the interior isn't too bad. Just a bit old and worn.
The rooms are small but if you are travelling you don't really spend much time there.

We booked through Rates to Go website and so I paid a £12 deposit that got charged to my account that day, I then got an email from them saying that when I arrived at the hotel I would be required to pay the additional £68 which was fine.
But when I got to the hotel they insisted I pay the whole £80 and made up some excuse about how they have to pay Rates to Go as well.
I was really annoyed about this, but I didn't want to let it ruin my holiday.

If it wasn't for that I would go there again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

The hotel had cancelled my booking because 'they did't have my contact details' even though I contacted them myself the day before my arrival and they confirmed everything was ok. They announced that the hotel was full - tough luck, no apologies. In the end they found this dreadful room for me on the top floor. Terrible decor throughout the hotel, broken toilet seat, leaking and blocked shower, graffitti on the bedroom wall, incredibly tired furniture and shocking bedding - old, brown blankets covered in hair. The kettle didn't work and the car park was a joke - only 10 spaces on a first come first served basis - no way of securing a space.
Good location, though. Should be cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppycat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We were going here on a hen do and I read the reviews before we went and was very nervous!! It is not as bad as the reviews suggest- the room we had was bright and airy and most importantly clean. The furniture didn't match- not even the bathroom suite but it didn't matter for a hen weekend. The breakfast isn't great but did the job after 2 nights drinking! The location is great- really close to town- the car park is an absolute nightmare- tiny and they allow double parking which seems to cause mayhem- parking in the road is limited and very expensive so my advice is take a train!!
If you are going here for a hen weekend / weekend away with friends then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

After reading other reviews on this site for the Redcar Hotel in Bath, I was quite apprehensive about staying here myself on a Hen Weekend. But there was nothing wrong with the hotel at all, I had a very enjoyable stay. The car park is very small but it is free and safe. The staff were foreign but very helpful. The hotel needs some updating but I liked the old fashioned way it looked as it gave it character. The room was basic but it was clean, although a little dusty on top of the bed posts if you were looking for it! The rooms have 4 poster beds with lace curtains on them which is quite cute, and the rooms have very high ceilings. The breakfast was very nice, self-service, hot fry up and continental available, and the breakfast room was the most nicely and modern decorated room in the hotel! The location is brilliant, literally 2 mins walk to get into town. I would stay here again as it was cheap and close to where we needed to be.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smalls1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergisch Gladbach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed for three nights and had booked 1 Double and 1 single room. The very small single room was to expensive (70 % of the price for Double) compare to the Double.

The continental breakfast offered not a big varity and the service - foreign students - did not had enough business experiences (music and discussions very loud and noisy).

The hotel is very close to the very nice city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuerzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.4 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Property: Redcar Hotel
Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing