We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great!”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Bath
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not great!”
Reviewed April 2, 2007

On arrival we went round the back to the 'car park' which only accomodated a few cars in and was already full by beginning of check in. we went in to the hotel to find out about alternative parking and was told we would have to pay the 65p an hour on the road parking.

The hotel itself is very dated and had to climb three lots of stairs to get to room, as no lifts. the room was reasonable but not comfy. It got very hot at night even with radiator turned off and window open and this was march!

Breakfast next moring was awful., We came down at 9.00- breakfast served till 10.00 and all the serving trays were more or less empty, with no sign of being filled. There were no clean tables, and noone around to help. after clearing a table a member of staff appeared and gave us cutlery but still not topped up food.

None seem to speak much english either. The hotel was right near the centre and location was great for shops and sites. Reception were helpful, but overall hotel terrible.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lws83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    49
    129
    135
    452
See reviews for
107
245
65
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Needed a cheap place to stay in Bath , this hotel was by far the cheapest. Read reviews and was a little wary about what I had booked. When we arrived the staff were extremely helpful ( no parking but good solution suggested).

The room was on the top floor, a bit of a trek, but good exersize!!! It was a small room however had everything we needed and it was comfortable.

I would not say it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in but for the money it could not be faulted!

Bar open when needed and a nice breakfast (buffet) provided in the morning.

I would recommend and would return.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sch_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

By any standards, this is a very poor hotel. The hotel's webpage displays an elegant crescent and describes the hotel's history, including its links with singers Engelbert Humperdink and Tom Jones who, allegedly, developed the hotel.

It was therefore a great disappointment to see the dowdy exterior, the lank net curtains and the poor decorative order of the public areas.
Our room was so small that we had to negotiate the gap between the bed and wall sideways, in order to gain access. The furniture was dark, dated and worn, and the bedspread had a couple of suspicious stains in its centre.

The bathroom was so small, that you could not bend over to wash your face at the basin, or stand sideways in front it. The two tiles behind the wash basin had been plastered in with vast amounts of mastic which looked like something a child might have achieved and this was the general standard of all tiling in the bathroom. The tap was loose and wobbly and the hot water came out in fits and starts, spraying your midriff, as you had nowhere to escape, unless you opened the door and stood in the bedroom.

The bed was over soft and I ended up with 14 unidentified bites on my upper torso - surely not bedbugs? I thought those days were long gone.
The 'Full English' breakfast was served until 10 am but at 9.30 there was no warm food left, apart from 3 shrivelled sausages. It took another 20 minutes for some bacon and eggs to appear, and another request for toast, before any was served.

The only plus is that the reception staff were cheerful and helpful.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty and shabby
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hl.tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Prior the attending the hotel, I reviewed the comments made in this website, I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel, the location was A1 just a short walk from the centre of town, the staff were friendly and as helpful as they could be (a credit to the hotel), the rooms were clean but well used, showing some signs of wear and tare, the bathroom was clean but in need of some attention, the light in the bathroom had recently been changed and was in poor state of repair with live wires clearly visible but not accessible or of any danger, the bar closed early….
I would rate the hotel
Value 8/10
Position 9/10
Staff 7/10
Breakfast 7/10
Rooms 7/10
Bathroom 5/10

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — watch for clampers at the rear car park
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJlepew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

Having read mixed reviews for this hotel, I went with an open mind, however it really was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. We were in room 207 and it was tiny! The furniture was falling apart, the sheets were stained and I think the bathroom was an after thought, it really was no bigger than a cupboard. The breakfast was also pretty dismal. The only positives for this hotel are very friendly staff, hotel car park and a great location for the centre but I really would not recommend this to anyone.

Sam, London

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything! (apart from the location)
  • Tips/Secrets — Be careful not to get blocked in the car park
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sclark6694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2006

Some of the negative comments in these reviews are certainly justified, but OTOH if you are willing to "rough it" a bit, you get a first-class location and a level of comfort that is no worse than what you should expect for the price you are paying.

The negatives -
The rooms on the upper floors require a lot of effort to get your luggage up to – the steep, narrow staircases were a real pain.
The top floor rooms are right under the roof - my room was surprisingly warm when I was there (late September) so they'd probably boil in summer. There is no air-conditioning.
Everything is shabby - holes in walls and torn bed covers - but clean and functional enough. You just have to smile; the holes won't kill you!
My room had a very strange and awkward hot/cold water mixer tap on the shower. I never could get enough really hot water. In the mild climate of September it didn't matter too much but in winter a lukewarm shower would not be fun.
There is a bit of a musty smell on some floors but it's not overwhelming and I found the same smell in other cheaper hotels too.
The street outside is not a main road but I did notice that the long rows of stone buildings tended to reflect street noise up. I was surprised to be able to hear conversation in the street from the top floor. Also the rooms are by no means soundproof - the walls are a bit thin and the floorboards creak. Again, no difference to other old hotels I stayed in.

The positives -
First class location - a short walk takes you to just about everything you'd want to see and do.
Reasonably helpful staff. There are a lot of people whose first language isn't English but they tried their best. And as other reviewers have pointed out, the “native” Englishperson can be pretty unhelpful at times.
Breakfast was basic but there was plenty of everything. No problems with service.
The rooms were cleaned and serviced each day. I had no problems with getting soap, towels etc.
I stayed two weeks (a last minute work booking) and have no regrets. But you need to not have super-high expectations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor hot water, room too warm in summer.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zardoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Property: Redcar Hotel
Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing