We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Hotel”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed November 8, 2008

The Redcar is a perfectly adequate hotel for sightseeing in Bath and I can't understand all the bad reviews. It is centrally located and the room rates are very reasonable for the area . Our room was fine, not luxury but clean , comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was also fine. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside is parking . The car park is tiny with just about 10 spaces, parking on the street is metered but free at night . Spaces become available on street after 9.00pm . If you're travelling without a car and are on a budget then I'd recommend the Red Car .

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 844 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed at redcar for one night. We will never stay there again nor will be recommend this hotel to anyone we know.

A terrible odour was evident as we entered the room. After flushing the toilet, it was obvious where the smell came from as the sewage system was not working properly.

Our room faced the street which on a Friday night was very noisy. To make things worse, our door was right next to the entrance way of the second floor. Each time someone entered and exited it made a loud noise. The cherry on top was the absolute lack of insulation from floor to floor. We heard every step of the people staying directly upstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shopgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Recently stayed at the Redcar hotel Bath, and having read some of the reports on trip advisor we were a little apprehensive about what we’d find. Like any place you can find good and bad things some people only seem to see the bad but hey they like to complain a lot and be heard. As for ourselves we found the Redcar to have very reasonable rates for the area. The location for walking into Bath was excellent only 5mins; there was free parking at rear in small car park considering the high price for parking elsewhere. The staff where excellent really friendly and helpful nothing too much for them to do. We found the breakfast was very tasty and filling and they where only to happy to get you something should it not be available, if you like Chinese food then there restaurant in the evenings is excellent value for money. Yes the décor and rooms are a little dated but never the less very clean and tidy, as I said for the price and location good value for money. We would have no hesitation in going back there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank foxyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This hotel was fine to crash in for a night or two. Nothing special, but clean enough and in a central location. The staff were polite and the breakfast was nice.

The hotel was significantly cheaper than most of the other ones we looked at and for what we paid we were happy. Don't go here though if you want anything more than 4 walls, a bed and a bathroom - it isn't a hotel to be appreciated, just somewhere to lay your head!

Also the hotel is pretty hot, so it being summer we needed to open the window and there was quite a lot of noise outside in the evening.

Its cost £1 a room to store bags for a day.

Enjoy Bath :)

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0is1ane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I know it's quite a time since we stayed but I am sure things won't have changed in such a short time! We stayed at the 'Redcar' to be honest because it was the only hotel left that had a triple room in Bath at the time. I booked through a booking website and it stated that the hotel had a carpark, great I thought Bath is a busy place so hopefully no problem parking WRONG the car park was the size of a paddling pool at the back of the hotel with awful access that set us up for the weekend!

I am sorry so say that this has to be the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in in my life all the reviews are true and the photos. The public areas are not as bad as the rooms so you get a false impression when you check in! our room being a triple was on the top floor of a 5 storey building with no lift! the room was exceedingly hot and while we were asleep it decided to rain in the night unbeknown to us the roof leaked all over the pull out bed fortunately we were not using it. When we opened the bed it was actually mouldy so obviously the ceiling had been leaking for some time! when we told the manager this a nice chinese lady she said housekeeping had not told her there was a problem with the room! the decor was old to say the least and I have never before had yellow duck stickers on the bathroom wall and a caramel coloured bathroom suite not nice! the shower curtain was held in place by a blue piece of string, the windows were rotten and the frames very dangerous because of the rot when I open the window it slammed shut again good job my fingers were not in the way!

In the restaurant seemed to have undergone a bit of modernising with new modern lampshades and general decoration but the chairs were still in dirty draylon, and dirty carpet, the food was ok only because and to give them their due! cooked a fresh poached egg for me the rest of the food looked a bit sad!

What a shame the owners do not invest in this lovely building. But Bath is a busy tourist centre and all the time people are paying £100 a night yes to add insult to injury!!! and the hotel is full they will not do anything until they absolutley have to.
So do not stay unless you are desperate!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Enjoyed my stay, although was dreading due to all the bad reviews. had a double bedroom, on the ground floor which was more than satisfactory. clean tidy room, clean bathroom with facilities to make tea and coffee :) staff pleasent and friendly as allowed us to keep my car in the car park before we had checked in and after we had checked out, which we were very greatful for. right in town, you dont even notice you cross the river, a truely surperb location, which is value for money.
fire alarm set off in night by a person staying at hotel, as he was drunk, hotel women was not happy at all and appolagised alot. we did not find this inconvinent just amusing as all the hotel was there in their jarmies XD including me :).
would recomend this hotel
breckfast was tasty, and was self service, yet the staff were friendly, and asked if we wanted toast.
Overall had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_H_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Stayed for 1 night in July 08. Terrific location just around the corner from the main street. Walking distance to the railway station. Tiny double room, worn carpet but clean and comfortable. Some reception staff a little disinterested. Breakfast was more than satisfactory. Well priced for the budget traveller. Luggage storage available before and after stay. Would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Merlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
1.8 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
6.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $81 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing