We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent authentic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joya Restaurant

Joya Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Joya Restaurant offers modern Italian dining in a fantastic position overlooking the world famous Pulteney Bridge and Weir. Homemade pasta dishes, stonebaked pizzas and chargrilled fish, chicken and steaks. From our homemade spaghetti bolognese to our chargrilled extra mature fillet steak with twice cooked fries, join us at Joya.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Looking for somewhere to eat we passed this place and thought the menu looked great. A family run business too. We found the quality of the food outstanding and has a thoroughly enjoyable evening with two courses each and a bottle of wine. Service was excellent, friendly an efficient. The pasta was delicious and the specials menu too. Excellent, cant recommend enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberleys476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    296
    83
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Joya restaurant is our favourite Italian restaurant. We love their pasta dishes, the steaks are amazing and the nicest touch of all is their specials' menu. Every time we visit the specials are different and we have fun choosing and tasting at least one dish from the specials. Without a doubt this is the best Italian restaurant in Bath!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thistle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great meal at Joya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Having read some other reviews of Joya on TripAdvisor we decided to give it a try, and weren't disappointed. Staff were friendly and quick with orders. Food was lovely, with a good range of items on the menu, clearly marked where they are vegetarian, and not just the usual pizza or pasta. Our food was delicious, and we couldn't resist pudding. Puddings are more expensive than some restaurants (£4.95 each) but seemed worth it as they were a reasonable size and very tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisydaisydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beats the chain restaurants- well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

On a recent day trip to Bath we fancied a change from the usual chain restaurants. Joya offered a lovely lesson in where many of the chains are missing- individually decorated with a more personal touch in their service and food prepared with greater care.

Although the menu is still reassuringly similar to many other Italian restaurants, the food was thoughtfully put together and tasted delicious. We ate the steak with potatoes and chips, and the prosciutto and cheese pizza. The gorgonzola sauce with the steak was so lovely that it was all finished after we had also dipped the chips! It was a plus to have food which didn't just seem hugely mass produced. The ingredients tasted fresh and the food arrived promptly but without making us feel rushed.

Our waitress was alone as we arrived in the early evening- and she was very sweet and apologetic that we couldn't sit upstairs to make the most of the view. The restaurant itself was beautifully decorated in pink. It was lovely and clean without becoming too plain or clinical. The only slight negative was that the attention to detail wasn't continued downstairs into the bathroom areas- but this wasn't too much of an issue compared to the positive experience we had.

Wish we had this restaurant in our home town- we will be back here when we next return to Bath!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissPlum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Would recommend a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked a table at Joya, as the other Italian, Sotto Sotto, was fully booked. However,we were more than happy with our experience at Joya. Starters and mains were very good quality.
The service and ambience was excellent and we will certainly return the next time we are in Bath.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IHATERASELIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Joya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing