We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bathwick Street B & B
Ranked #80 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Thanks for a great stay in Bath! We only stayed for one night- but we were warmly welcomed and given plenty of info in the room about what to do in bath etc. Our room was on the small side but that didnt really bother us and as long as the bed is comfy and its clean I don't really mind :) Really friendly service and the breakfast was delicious. If we're back in Bath again I'm sure we'd return here!

Mary

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thankyou for your review. Hope to see you again.
Liza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 78 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful quirky bed and breakfast for a one night stay.
Very friendly and helpful and was lovely to stay in such a great location to the city centre.
The house is an original georgian style house with such great furniture pieces that keep the 'period' of that time still very present.
The breakfast was very laid back and extremely yummy, catered for what you fancied and even what time you wanted it for...Very peaceful and would certainly stay there again!!!

Room Tip: We had the compact room which although yes is small is adequate for what you need it for...very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evablue, Owner at Bathwick Street B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

It's always a pleasure to have great people staying at the b&b, hope to see you again and thankyou.
Liza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The B&B is located just minutes from the city centre. It’s furnished with amazing antique pieces and is made up with impeccable taste and great attention to period features. I had to travel on my own, but the reception was so welcoming that I felt less lonely. The hosts are very friendly and are happy to chat and give advice about the town over a lovingly prepared breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I wanted to treat my husband to a weekend away for a birthday treat and thought Bath would be ideal as we love the history of the city and thought a trip to the spa would be a great idea too. My husband is on home dialysis (due to kidney failure) so i knew the choice of B&B needed to be homely, peaceful and accommodating. liza and Pete were really welcoming and understanding of my husbands needs.
We had the 4 poster bedroom which was at the back of the house and was just stunning. it was quiet and although only small, it was perfect. Plenty of room for us plus a dialysis machine! Lovely ensuite shower room and the drawing room, which is a communal area, was beautiful- the furnishings were totally in keeping with the age of the property.
The breakfast room was a lovely rustic kitchen with great selection of fresh organic fruit and a variety of yummy homemade breads (plus meat/fish or cheese platters).
The B&B was about a 15min walk to the city center and situated close to 2 parks.All in all a fabulous place to stay with friendly hosts - thank you to both Liza and Pete for their hospitality and kindness. we will be back one day in the future! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The 4 poster bed was really comfy and situated to the back of the house which meant it was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jooles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thankyou for your review. It was lovely meeting you both,it's always lovely to have such great guests. Good luck with everything and hope to see you again. Liza and Pete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at Bathwick Street B&B on our first night in England, a long day - arriving via TGV and collecting a car. The house is a large Georgian house and you pretty much live as the well-to-do visitors from the 1800s must have done (save for the fact that your bathroom (a converted bedroom) has a massive bath and modern shower, WC and plumbed towel heater/room warmer. The bed was large and comfortable, and the shutters and thick curtains made for a quiet and noiseless night’s sleep.
This is the place to stay after a long days travel. It’s only 90 minutes by train from Paddington. Pete and Liza are well advanced in their renovations, successfully retaining the essential character (read – accept that the floorboards are from 1790 and will creak), the rooms are large, have character and are generously equipped.
The guest sitting room would suit a Jane Austen novel and the (Scandinavian option) breakfast is to die for, and served in an authentic working kitchen. No cooked breakfast option available but we welcomed this as ‘cooked’ is what you get everywhere else in the UK. Free wifi.
Parking was across the road in a side street but free (with a parking permit) – pretty good as Bath parking options are dreadful. An easy 10 minute stroll to the main attractions. Signage not large but house numbers are consecutive so easy to follow.
Great for those wanting the genuine Bath experience (with a large bath) – most recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JWTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thankyou for the review. Great to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

lovely georgian bath house in a quiet location about ten minutes walk from bath centre.very friendly hosts ,it felt more like staying at a friends house than a b+b.cosy bedroom which was elegantly decorated and a very comfortable bed .good choice of breakfast of cheese and ham or fish,and complimentary whiskey and port the previous night[sorry we drank it all!],would definitely stay again,highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bukowski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place is at the same time beautiful, bizarre, elegant, eclectic, authentic, chaotic, convenient and charming. There are two types of B&B - some are like mini hotels and others are homestays in people's houses - this is definitely the latter. The house is a beautiful example of a typical Georgian Bath house with many original features, stripped wooden floors, period furniture and interesting bits and pieces. so the experience is very authentic. We had the larger room which is huge and has a massive private bathroom adjacent. The room is at the front of the house which is on a busy road so we found it noisy - we live in the country and are used to silence. If you like a really homely approach to your stay experience then you'll really enjoy your stay. The house is just five or so minutes' walk to the centre of Bath so very convenient. Overall it was an interesting experience and the place did grow on us during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penders65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
7.1 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bathwick Street B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bathwick Street B & B

Address: 16 Bathwick Street, Bath BA2 6NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $92 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful five storey Georgian Townhouse, built in 1792, situated in central Bath. The house contains many orginal features, such as a cooking range installed in 1805, high ceilings,open fires and antique furnishimgs. There is a compact Four Poster Room with en-suite shower room and a very large superior king size bedroom with a large roll top bathroom. See photos. Guests enjoy free high speed internet. We are a few minutes level walk to the Roman Baths, Abbey, Thermae Spa and city centre restaurants. Breakfast is served in our large kitchen with original cooking range(1802). Choose either a large continental buffet breakfast with a selection of breads, some home-made, including rye, sourdough, bagels,cereals, yoghurts, croisants, a selection of cheeses, cold meats,salamis, pancetta, optional boiled eggs and homemade conserves. Or a Scandinavian breakfast of herring, smoked fish, rye bread, homemade bread, homemade pickle, cereals,yoghurts and a selection of cheeses . Both breakfasts also include a choice of teas and coffees, fruit juice and fruit. Please note check-in is normally between 2pm and 10pm. Check out is by 11am. We are a family run bed and breakfast and do not operate a reception desk. No minimum stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing