We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Park Guest House
Ranked #83 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“home away from home”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Upon arriving at the Royal Park Guest House, we were immediately made comfortable by Nick, the host. Nick is friendly, personable, and perhaps most importantly of all, very approachable. He showed outstanding service, even carrying our (very oversized) suitcases up two flights of stairs - and then back down at the end of our stay (proving his worth considering that the second time around he was fully aware of exactly how skilled women are at overpacking). Nick then showed us to our room, which we considered to be a very decent size, with a fantastic, large front window overlooking the street, and furnished with the comforts one would surround themselves with at home (especially when it came to the bathroom, which supplied us with the knicks and knacks one forgets when travelling, such as cotton buds).
We met Nick back in the dining room where he proceeded to give us all the information we needed, as well as giving recommendations that came in INCREDIBLE use - such as the best time to visit the Baths in order to avoid the crowds, other things to see and do around the area, and the nicest places in town to eat (at which my daughter still declares she ate the best meal of our entire trip - which is significant considering we travelled for 9 weeks to food havens such as Italy and ate out every night). Essentially we got an insider's view to the city and it immediately made us see it through the eyes of someone who had grown up here - so we felt less 'foreign' and lost, and less pushed for time.
We would recommend the Royal Park Guest House to anyone looking for a comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast.
Thank you Nick and co.!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
55
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Fantastic location but a bit tired decor. Dreadful to be faced with a worn out toilet seat but amazing to have it replaced so quickly by the couple looking after the guest house whilst owners away.
Great omelette for breakfast on second morning.
Stayed at the top of the house, comfy bed and private bathroom. Recommend ear plugs if sea gull noise is not to your liking.

Can't compliment the cover couple enough!

Room Tip: Friend stayed in single room, take warning, it is minute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I recently spent 6 nights in Bath and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Host Nick was full of information and advice and greeted me as if we had known each other for some time. I stayed in the single room, which I have to say is very small. At first I was a little shocked as to how small the room is but after a day or 2 I fell in love with my room. The bed was perfect as was all the inclusions, no hesitation in staying again. Breakfast was brilliant, best bacon I have ever eaten and a morning fruit salad that was superb. Parking is available at the rear of the BnB. You do need to walk around however I found this not difficult and Nick is there to help you if needed.Nick is one of the best hosts I have met in my travels around Uk over many years, he has a wonderful sense of humour and is always good for a genuine chat and is very interested in what you are doing and where you have been.Great advice on eating places as well. A great Thai restaurant called Thai by the Weir was my favourite, as it overlooks the Bridge and river Avon. The BnB is only a short walk to the centre of town..he provides you with a map and after one day I was completely aware of how to move around Bath, which is such a wonderful location in South west England area about 2 hours drive from Heathrow Airport. There is a laundramat within 15 mins walk of the BnB and also a Dry Cleaners about 3 mins away as well. Well done Nick and Lisa...hope all goes well for the future.Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Suggest if you are travelling solo to try and secure a double room ( definite if you are large in si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicklesNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I can reiterate what was written about the family room in the review of 4th July 2012 with regard to the beds. They are Terrible and we hardly slept for the two nights we were there, Nick and Lisa the owners obviously haven’t taken notice of the previous review with regard to changing the beds. We also found someone’s dirty washing in a bag in one of the chest of drawers which means that whoever cleaned the room wasn’t very observant. The traffic noise in this room is high if you have to keep the windows open, due to it overlooking the A4.
The people who ran the place when we stayed there were looking after it while the owners were on holiday, they were friendly and helpful but the breakfast was only just adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Visited recently and stayed in the twin room with my mother. The owners were lucky enought o be disappearing on holiday the day we arrived, but the two who were covering them were great. The room was lovely, a little noisy with the window open (it was a very warm weekend) but what else would you expect with such a central location? Breakfast was brilliant, bathroom lovely, owners (and their cover) very friendly and helpful, and BRILLIANT location. Overall, great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightshayesNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

my friend and i had the family room at the front of the house. plenty of room clean and bright. however a little noisy as on a main road. The host Nick gave us a warm welcome and was very helpful as to where to go / where to eat in Bath. The Guest house is an easy 10 minute walk from the main attractions, so in a great location. wonderful to be able to park the car and forget about it for a couple of days! would definately return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Thank you for making our weekend in Bath enjoyable! Nick welcomed us at the door and was the perfect balance of helpful and friendly without being over the top. He kindly gave us recommendations for things to go for and things to avoid, this insight is so helpful to avoid tourist traps! We loved the feel of Royal Park and the little touches such as the make up buds with lotion and the kit kat. We stayed in the top room which perfect; the bed was comfortable and the room was a good size. The guest house is based on a fairly main road however when we were there not only was there very little traffic, but the area generally appeared very quiet, very rarely seeing other people down the street; At no point did we find the area noisy.

Lastly, but by no means least, the breakfast was divine! I had boiled eggs and my boyfriend had the scrambled eggs with salmon, both of which were cooked to perfection. In addition to this we had a bowl of indulgent fruits (raspberries, kiwi,nectarines etc) with rachel's yoghurt.

Definitely recommend this to all who are fed up of mass produced places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieWearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#43 of 154 in Bath
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crescent Guest House
Crescent Guest House
#91 of 154 in Bath
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cornerways Bath
Cornerways Bath
#53 of 154 in Bath
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 154 in Bath
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Guest House

Property: Royal Park Guest House
Address: 16 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh and recently renovated 4 bedroom B&B. All of our rooms are en-suite. We are only a 5 minute walk to city centre and main attractions with the added bonus of free private parking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing