We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prior Park Landscape Gardens
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth the steep hill to get there!

A steep hill about a mile long to get there but buses do go right passed. A lot of work going on... read more

Reviewed September 17, 2021
Glen504216
,
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Views

This is a wonderful garden with some beautiful structures and amazing views of the city from the... read more

Reviewed September 3, 2021
reeceyb
,
Chichester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 816 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bath
from $21.01
More Info
from $18.21
More Info
from $28.02
More Info
from $23.82
More Info
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveler rating
502
241
52
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
502
241
52
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palladian bridge national trust steep walk nt members bath skyline city centre worth the effort lovely place to visit lakes palladium dam picnic path trees route field
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 816 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Stunning views over the city and the only place where you can see Ralph Allen’s house (Prior Park College) from a short distance.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 596inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

These gardens are still being renovated by national trust, but there are lots of scenic photography opportunities to be had. Great views of Bath, along with stunning bridge (with swan family). Nice little tea shop near the south-west exit. The welcome from the woman at the north-east entrance was the most informative we've had at a NT property, as she took the time to check how we had travelled there before recommending the best route and exit for us to take.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 84allanmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

Palladian bridge and mansion on a beautiful hillside meadow surrounded by forests. Great views of Bath. The walking trails give great forest views as well. National Trust provides woodland tea room. The scene of the bridge is very romantic. Not to be missed.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Nicevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016

It was a gloomy Saturday in September when we climbed the steep hill to the gates (on the number 2 bus due to the forecast rain) and entered Prior Park. The entrance is staffed by knowledgeable and enthusiastic folk as with all National Trust places, and with loos, maps and trails and a small shop of toys and curios for the children. We began at the top, in the lost grotto, before wandering along the top lake where we enjoyed watching a kingfisher catching his breakfast. Making our way downhill towards the Palladian bridge we were able to shelter from the increasing rain under a canopy of trees, including the UK’s tallest maple no less, before winding our way along the Horseshoe Walk and gazing at the view of the famous bridge and the city beyond. There is a large swing under the tree at the Eastern end of the Horseshoe Walk, which entertained the children for a considerable period of time, even in the heavy rain!
There is another gate by Church Street, closer to town if you’re on foot, and this is where you will find the other toilet block, a tearoom and a small rustic play area. We curved around the bottom of the lake and wandered over the bridge, posed for the obligatory photos and admired the 19th Century graffiti before taking the steps back up to the swing under the tree. One advantage of visiting during heavy rain is that you will have the park almost to yourself- there were only around ten other people with us in the whole place! Wear sturdy shoes and good raincoats and there are places to shelter with your picnic- no damp spirits for us, even thought the rain was very heavy.
There is an enormous variety of birds to spot (the memory of that little kingfisher shall stay with me forever) and newts, coots and cygnets too.
Rated a four due to the children being disappointed with the size of the play area- it’s a wooded area with a couple of dens and some log stepping ‘stones’ rather than anything brightly coloured, and the swing up the hill was much more interesting to our more daring and slightly older children.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank T1m0te1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

We went there on a not so sunny day, quite grim to be honest... And yet it was a beautiful, breathtaking walk up and down the hills surrounding the park. No doubt one of our highlights in Bath. Highly advise to get as close as possible to the bridge as its a masterpiece. Shame some of the other places of interest around the park don't keep the promise, the Ice house for eg, there's really nothing there...Beautiful walk back down to the city. Note that parking is very limited and quite impossible on site so best to use public transport or Uber. Cafe had not much to offer and as with everything else in the National Trust was way overpriced. NOT TO MISS if you are in Bath

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank TamYuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews