We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prior Park Landscape Gardens (NT)

Prior Park Landscape Gardens (NT)
Ranked #7 of 149 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 18th-century landscape garden featuring the Palladian Bridge, which is magically sited on a scenic lake with sweeping views of the city of Bath.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I moved to Bath about 3 years ago, and saw pictures of Prior park everywhere. So it was top of my list of things to do.

After a HUGE trek up the hill we eventually found it. (The signposting was very poor!) We paid the entrance fee and listened to a short presentation which pushed you to buy the souvenir guidebook before you had even gone in.

I had a walk around the gardens following the suggested route and there was a beautiful big house looking over the park with lakes, streams, trees, a stunning bridge and wildlife.

Even though the weather was horrid it still looked so perfect.

There's a lot of history involved with in the park too. Like the world war bunker.

A perfect day out. Defiantly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    145
    35
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Park with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was interested in exploring some of the lesser known parks in the UK and can highly recommend spend a half day enjoying Prior Park. While you can take a city bus up the hill to the top of the park, it is also an invigorating and enjoyable 30 minute walk. The views looking back at Bath are beautiful. There are a number of walks to take around and through the park. There is also a tea 'shed' where you can enjoy some light fare and enjoy the pastoral setting. We encountered a very informative park employee who gave us a number of helpful guidelines on how best to see the park. Ended up becoming members of the National Trust!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PRguy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“a little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

a beautiful place to visit that I recommend if you want to relax and complete your visit of Bath. (and if you're a fan of Jane Austen, you'll feel as if you're walking in one of Austen's heroines steps)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Camille O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

spectacular views and really peaceful relaxing gardens. Small tearoom. A steep hill walk to get there unless you take the bus and there is no parking for cars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a gorgeous place to take a stroll, stunning views of Bath and the surrounding area. There is only disabled parking available which is slightly ridiculous as it isn't really ideal for the disabled. It would be very difficult pushing a wheelchair around as the paths are very steep in some areas. You also have to watch your step as in places it's very slippery. If you drive to the top of the hill and go straight ahead at the crossroads there is some on street parking available, though not much. We went first thing in the morning so were able to get parked. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgable and are a credit to the National Trust. You could spend anything from an hour to perhaps half a day here though not much to entertain little ones.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prior Park Landscape Gardens (NT) also viewed

 

Been to Prior Park Landscape Gardens (NT)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing