We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walking tours on offer - free :-)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bath Tourist Information Office

Bath Tourist Information Office
Ranked #39 of 154 things to do in Bath
Attraction details
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great walking tours on offer - free :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We popped into the tourist information office as we had heard about the walking tours. We discovered a tour was starting almost immediately from the Abbey yard, outside the Roman baths. Expecting to have to pay we were amazed to discover the tours are operated free of charge by the Mayor of Bath honorary guides. The leaflet makes clear that the guides do not accept tips or gratuities. Our tour was excellent - about 2 hours in duration and taking in the spa area, Theatre Royal, Queen's square, the Royal crescent, Circus, upper assembly rooms and Milsom street. Our guide was really knowledgeable, very friendly and with sufficient humour to keep interest and make the event great fun.
In so many cities tourists are fleeced and relieved of their money at every possible opportunity. Not with this tour! We felt that we were honoured guests being shown around the city by someone who clearly loved his home and wanted to share its benefits with others. If you are heading to Bath then it's well worth setting a couple of hours aside for this informative and enjoyable tour.

Helpful?
5 Thank Ced H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    45
    15
    10
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Free to get information and is a must if you want to see around Bath properly. It has loads of information and it is all free which I cannot say enough times.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darksideforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pointing us in the right direction.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I called in at the Bath Tourist Information Office located by the Abbey in Bath, quite close to the Pump Room & Roman Baths. We bought combined tickets for three attractions; lunch in the Pump Room, 2 hours at the spa and a tour of the Roman Baths for £63 each. Not bad. Very helpful staff and a good collection of maps and guide books.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

For a tourist information office it couldn't be better located, right in the heart of Bath next to the Abbey. Mine of information and very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank GorfBathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Free walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Went in Tourist Information office looking to do a walk. They told us about the free walking tours starting from outside the Roman Baths entrance. We went on the 2pm tour on Sunday 2 September. We started off promptly and spend a really interesting 2 hours being expertly guided around the city. This was a very professional tour and no money changed hands at all. We recently went on a "free" tour of Edinburgh but that was very poor in comparison to the tour we had in Bath. Absolutely excellent...can't even say it was value for money because we didn't pay anything. I think our tour guide may have been called Phil but, if not, he knows who he is and he certainly does a great job.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank thjX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bath Tourist Information Office also viewed

 

Been to Bath Tourist Information Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing