We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthwhile, even on a cold December day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of American Museum

American Museum
Ranked #14 of 155 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Situated in a glorious Georgian manor house within 120 acres of wonderful grounds and stunning scenery, the American Museum in Britain is home to the finest collection of Americana outside of the United States. Visitors learn about the Founding Fathers, the pioneers West, Native Americans and the Slavery issue which lead to the Civil War in the new interactive American Heritage Exhibition. This precedes a series of attractive period rooms dating from colonial times until the eve of the Civil War. These rooms set the scene on domestic life throughout the exciting settlement and independence years of America and are accessible via a lift for those who have difficultly with the manor house stairs. The museum has an outstanding quilt collection which allows us to alter the permanent textile display from time to time (40-50 quilts are on show each year) and an inspiring Folk Art gallery intrigues visitors with whirligigs, cigar store Indians, weathervanes and even a Mohawk ship figurehead! Main season Mid-March to November, Tuesday -Sunday, 12-5pm. Cafe & Gardens open from 10.30am. Closed Mondays except during August and Bank Holidays. Christmas season Mid-November to Mid-December, Tuesday -Sunday, 12-4.30pm. Cafe open from 11am. Closed Mondays. Free shuttle bus from Bath city centre to the museum throughout afternoon, see website for schedule.
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worthwhile, even on a cold December day”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had a voucher from the Daily Mail to this attraction that I'd long intended to visit.
As my wife was interested in quilting, this was our main reason to go, and we were not disappointed by the incredible quilts on display.
But there was so much more to look at and absorbing historical details available at various points around the large old house which has been converted to show what various rooms would have been like over the ages.
There are also other attractions included which were various art exhibits relevant to the American past.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TommyTucker1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    159
    36
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
173 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An interesting place but.........!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have been to the American Museum many times over the years and its always good and particularly so at Christmas time with the very good decorations that are put up. This Christmas was no different but with an EXCELLENT and well lit tree on display. The Friends that we took along as first time visitors enjoyed it but it was too chilly and late to do anything about the Gardens which are normally worth a visit in the spring summer and autumn. Having said all that I have to say that visits leave a me a little disturbed somehow - perhaps its just a nation looking for a Heritage! Well worth a visit however

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnwetherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“American history in Bath”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A gem of a place with varied topics and well set out history of America. Well worth a visit when in Bath. Free bus available from town centre as its by the University..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank acoustico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Exhibition”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Christmas rooms were lovely! There are also 2 excellent gift shops and a very nice cafe. The cookies are superb!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A great Day out.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have been an infrequent visitor. ever since my Aunt Peggy used to get us in for free, back in the 60's when she worked as a hostess, handing out ginger bread to visitors. Great re-enactments, the museum is as great as it is to see the beautiful house and grounds.

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing