We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little bit of wonderment”
Review of American Museum

American Museum
Ranked #16 of 165 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Situated in a glorious Georgian manor house within 120 acres of wonderful grounds and stunning scenery, the American Museum in Britain is home to the finest collection of Americana outside of the United States. Visitors learn about the Founding Fathers, the pioneers West, Native Americans and the Slavery issue which lead to the Civil War in the new interactive American Heritage Exhibition. This precedes a series of attractive period rooms dating from colonial times until the eve of the Civil War. These rooms set the scene on domestic life throughout the exciting settlement and independence years of America and are accessible via a lift for those who have difficultly with the manor house stairs. The museum has an outstanding quilt collection which allows us to alter the permanent textile display from time to time (40-50 quilts are on show each year) and an inspiring Folk Art gallery intrigues visitors with whirligigs, cigar store Indians, weathervanes and even a Mohawk ship figurehead! Main season Mid-March to November, Tuesday -Sunday, 12-5pm. Cafe & Gardens open from 10.30am. Closed Mondays except during August and Bank Holidays. Christmas season Mid-November to Mid-December, Tuesday -Sunday, 12-4.30pm. Cafe open from 11am. Closed Mondays. Free shuttle bus from Bath city centre to the museum throughout afternoon, see website for schedule.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have loved the American Museum since my childhood and now my own children love it, the views alone are worth going for!

Thank Rowills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 485 of 554 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We caught the free minibus from the centre of Bath which leaves every quarter past the hour and takes you right up to the front door of the museum. Don't take the tour bus as it leaves you miles away and then you have to walk down to the museum which is a long walk. Take some refreshments into the grounds at the back where there are wonderful views across the countryside. Plenty to see and do there.

Catch the free minibus back into town which leaves at quarter to the hour.

1  Thank suhowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The house is lovely & set in beautiful grounds. We had a happy hour or so wandering round the museum & enjoyed a tea & snickerdoodle in the restaurant

Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Travelled there on the way home only to find it did not open until 12 noon - no signs at entrance to tell you.

Thank proneeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanMuseum, Marketing Manager at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

It is a shame that we were not able to welcome you when you visited the Museum. We shall review the signs at the gate of the property and at the entrance to the car park to ensure that they are on clear view to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife was thrilled with this as she is very interested in the American history. Lots to see and read about. Bit out of the way when using the bus but well worth the visit

Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanMuseum, Marketing Manager at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We're so pleased that you & your wife enjoyed visiting us and hope that our new Shuttle Bus from Bath city centre will be of use to you for future visits. It runs every afternoon that we are open and brings visitors direct to our front door. Please see our website for pick-up point & times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing