We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Gorgeous hotel, wonderfully helpful and friendly hosts. We had the Wellesley Room on the ground floor which was lovely with the most comfortable four poster bed. Spotlessly clean, home comforts, Molton Brown toiletries, shower was fantastic. Lovely and warm room. Breakfast was tasty and plenty of choices. In a nice area of Bath, parking available, just 30 minutes walk through the park or 5-10 mins drive to the centre. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Apsley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2010

It has all been said before! This is an excellent hotel. Duncan & Anel are warm, welcoming hosts, very professional in everything they do. It really is the small touches that make Apsley House so special, attention to detail is fantastic.

We spent 6 hours in Bath (shopping!)on Saturday and it really was wonderful to return to a warm room and step into the slipper bath and relax. Like home from home!

Just a small note to the girls who served at breakfast...well done.. you also upheld the warm friendly atmosphere, with a smile!

Great stuff all of you.!

April & Marcus

Hope to return for longer than a weekend next year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AppleWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Located about 1.5m out of Bath to the west.
Free car parking. A good welcome on arrival.
Stayed in the "Romantic" room on the 1st floor. The room is quiet, a good size and well decorated in period colours and wallpaper. Good quality carpets, tea and coffee facilities in the room. Bed quality is high, so a good nights sleep. The 5 magazines in the bedroom are a nice touch, and the TV is fine.

New bathroom, tasteful with quality amenities. Bath just is a bit smaller than it looks.

Breakfast is very good, choice of fruits, juices are all good and the cooked breakfast was excellent. Plenty of coffee in a good sized pot.

Lounge area is comfortable, with a bar area that works on an honesty system.

All in all, a great place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My husband and I recently booked weekend away in Bath with some friends and decided to stay at Apsley House after reading all of the positive comments on Trip Advisor. This hotel did not let us down. It is a lovely hotel with fantastic rooms. We stayed in the Champagne room which is very homely and newly refurbished.

As soon as we arrived we were welcomed and given maps and details of things to do. The staff were all very friendly and I have to say the breakfast was incredible!

The only slight downside of this hotel is that is takes a while to walk into the city, however it is a scenic walk and, as it was sunny, we didn't mind. We did get taxi's in the evenings though but that was around £6.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody it's great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemsieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Bath to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Not being terribly organised we booked last minute and only due to a cancellation were lucky enough to get a room at this lovely hotel. We stayed in Room 9 a truly beautiful room with direct access to the garden and a wonderful view. The en-suite is fab with a modern claw foot bath, large separate shower, luxury toiletries, and even bathrobes and slippers. The breakfast room is a gorgeous sunny room directly above Room 9 and therefore enjoying the same lovely views. You are slightly aware of people walking round in the breakfast room above from about 7.45am but this didn’t bother us one bit. Breakfast is of the highest quality with so much choice and beautifully cooked and presented. If you are planning a stay in Bath I recommend you reserve a room at Aspley House well in advance to ensure you don’t miss out!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

It starts with the warm, professional and hospitable staff, then you realize the well appointed rooms and bathrooms and the cleanliness of it all. A walk around the premises confirms that it is indeed a very good place to stay. The breakfast spread was well chosen and well prepared. It was sumptuous (with the best coffee in our trip) and the presentation and service were top notch. They even recommended great running trails around and in the city. A must to return to.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
Thank RBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed here before heading over to Lacock.

Firstly when we got here Duncan welcomed us and helped with the bags. He gave us a tour of the room (The Beau Room) which was very informative showing us how to use the big roll top bath (very enjoyable after a long day sight seeing).

The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, a good selection and nothing was too much trouble for Anel and staff, all of which were very friendly and helpful!

We were provided with a map of the city and were pointed out to the closest car parks and walks into the city centre, approx a 30-40 minute walk through the park and about £7 in a taxi. We were going to attend the Thermae Spa in Bath city centre and Duncan was very helpful and knew the necessary information for us to secure a visit the same evening we arrived which was lovely.

In the evening we wanted to eat out but as we hadn't previously booked anywhere we were in need of some advise which again, Duncan and Anel couldn't do enough to help, providing us with the collection of menus that they had in the foyer at reception.

Overall, we had a fabulous stay at Apsley house. The Beau Room was lovely, very private and had everything we needed during the stay with a good selection of teas and coffees! The staff were very helpful and friendly and we would definately recommend this people thinking of staying in and around Bath!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodmanbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,359 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $202 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing