We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Stay”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Angourie, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stay”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Apsley House was delightful. We stayed in the Coach House Cottage, a self-catering 2 bedroom 2 bathroom stone cottage. The accommodation was excellent, well equiped, comfortable and private. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent, with generous supplies of bread, milk, juice, bacon, eggs etc for our personal use when we arrived. The main house was also outstanding, beautifully appointed with majestic views over the city of Bath. We were made to feel welcome and very much at home. It is conveniently located close to transport into the city. Also there are some good walks close by and an excellent 'Desh restaurant around the corner with excellent table service and delicious food, although the ambience was not quite up to the same standard - but good value for money. We could have stayed at Apsley House for much longer than the 2 nights we did.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonandNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    158
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
176
985
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from 5 weeks in Europe. We stayed 2 nights at Apsley House and we had a wonderful stay. Apsley House is luxurious and warm haven a little way out of the town centre of Bath.
Both Anelle and Duncan couldn't have been more helpful and they treated us wonderfully. Duncan even arranged for a parcel of goods we wanted to send off home to Australia to be packed up and picked off even though we had moved on to our next stop of our holiday.
The breakfasts are superb and the little touches make this one of the top B & B's in Europe.
All up it was an 11/10 stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Booked in to the hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Had 2 rooms, the Wellesley Room on the ground floor and the Vitoria Room on the 2nd floor for our teenage children. Lovely hotel with rooms of an extremely high quality with excellent attention to detail. Good selection of Molton Brown shower/bath products. Hotel stocks excellent information of local restaurants and things to do in Bath and the surounding areas. Staff happy to help take cases to your room and to recommend things to do and places to eat. The decor and ambience of the hotel is lovely. There is a well stocked bar in the lounce and you can help yourself to drinks simply leaving details of drinks used which are added to your bill when you check out. Bath is very pleasant with enough to do for a couple of days. It was about 1.5 miles from the Centre of town although there is a pleasant walk through the park and Royal Crescent which takes around 30 minutes. The Roman Baths are a must. I recommend a visit by torchlight. The Baths are open until 10pm in July and August. My daughter and I visited the Assembley rooms and fashion museum which currently has an exhibition on Princess Diana. It was a very impressive collection and I was pleasantly suprised. Well worth a visit. It is worth getting a discounted ticket at the Roman Baths which gives you cheaper entry to the Fashion Museum.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillHarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Truely lovely place to stay. Although this is an old country style house with upmarket decor, it manages to also be down to earth and friendly. We felt very welcome. Breakfast was the best I have had in any B&B, relaxed atmosphere, great service and we loved the daily specials. Also has on-site car park which saves a small fortune in Bath.

Do go to the Bath spa. We just walked up and hired towels while there. A superb experience.

We ate at the pub down the road from the B&B which was worth a visit. Also went to the Aqua Italian restaurant which was packed on a Thursday night. Great quality food.

Have to say that Bath itself, apart from the spa, was a huge disappointment. But, if you decide to go, do stay at the Apsley. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at the Apsley House Hotel on the recommendation of a friend in Greenwich. We couldn't have been happier. From the moment we pulled into the lovely car park and entered the lovely house, we were sold. Anelle was there to welcome us and provide suggestions for our walk into town and dining/drinking. The house is gorgeous! It is filled with antiques and appointed in beautiful linens and decorations. The common areas and back garden would be lovely to relax in, but we didn't have the time. It is a fairly easy walk into town and one can always catch a taxi or bus back to the hotel. The breakfast was delicious in the morning and the special weekend get away rate made our experience a bargain!

Stay at Apsley House Hotel and you'll never want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kohigirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Don't know how to add to what everyone else has to say. Staying here was an absolutely perfect way to end our month long trip with our soon to be college freshman. I recommend walking into town for a delightful stroll. We could hardly even walk in the front door without Duncan going out to carry our heavy luggage up to the third floor and the best was yet to come.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fam444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

A group of us stayed 3 nights in the self-catering lodge and both the accommodation and the welcome were excellent. Exactly as described and simply deserves the no. 1 spot on TripAdvisor, excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieHolidays22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing