We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff prepared to go the extra mile”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We had arranged a four day ,child free trip to Seville,which was cancelled due to Icelandic ash and thought Bath as we had never visited before.We found Apsley House due to popularity on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.
The welcome was just right.Duncan enquired after our wants and needs without being nosy and helped with tips and hints throughout our stay.
We were to meet my sister one evening in a pub three miles away and Duncan produced an OS map for us to take with us as it was possible to walk to this pub along a cycle track.
The room we had was on the second floor,delightfully appointed,all Molton Brown products in large bottles,not the usual sample sizes!Powerful,hot showers and a bed with a feather topper which produced a good nights sleep.
The breakfasts were as good as any I have ever eaten in a British hotel,with a daily special added every morning.
Sitting out in the hotel garden with a white wine from the honesty bar was a wonderful way of relaxing in the late afternoon overlooking the valley.
The hotel is situated half an hours walk from Bath town centre,but if you walk through the park by the Royal Crescent it is all downhill and a joy!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENTISTJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

When so many reviewers speak so positively about so many aspects of Apsley House Hotel,you begin to wonder whether there is anything left to say. I wish all visits provided the quality of the building and the rooms, the management and the service levels I've experienced here. Excellent food, and high end toiletries typify the close attention paid to all the detailed matters,which reflect the stand-out establishments. Must be in with a good shout for "small hotel of the year". Many congratulations to Duncan,Anel and their staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigsear2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Upon finally arriving at the Apsley House in Bath (massive thanks to our patient host for multiple calls to direct us there by car), we were settled in and oriented to the local surroundings. Recommendations for good and close (7 min. walk) were offered with a smile.
Evening was on us as we walked to the local pub (Weston pub) for pints, fish & chips, and a chat...the walk did us good for the air and sitting all night/day,and the pints took care of everything else.
Back to the Apsley House for a restful sleep and awakening to a view of Bath.
Breakfast was a brilliant affair (compliments to the chef/host) and will hold us the whole day for exploring.
Its the beginning of a great holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

my husband and I spent four wonderful days at the Apsley House Hotel. The room was lovely with georgeous views across the countryside. Breakfasts were plentiful and cooked to order with a special menu every day. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and would not hesitate in coming back again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Just recently stayed for 3 nights at this Hotel. We stayed in the Garden Room which had French Doors opening on to the Garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, giving us details and Maps of Bath and advising where everything was they also recommended restaurants and places to visit. Everything about this hotel was first class the room, the staff and the Breakfast. I would not hesitate in returning and recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

From the moment we arrived in reception at the hotel, we were greeted with a friendly smile and helpful information and advice about our visit to Bath. We were shown around the hotel, and shown to our room on the ground floor. The room was spacious, beautifully furnished and well decorated (with a four-poster bed), had excellent tea and coffee making facilities, a helpful guide to Bath with information about places to eat and places to visit and also sumptuous smelling shampoo and shower gels. The hotel is a good 20 minutes walk into Bath city centre itself, which is its only downside, but there is a nice, convenient park and ride system, just down the road and also easy bus and taxi access for those who need it. Breakfast was fantastic, with a fine selection of fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereals to start with a variety of cooked to order breakfasts including porridge with whisky and smoked salmon with poached egg, alternatively you can choose the chef's special of the day. The honesty bar and the daily newspapers in the lounge are an excellent idea for finishing the day and providing a homely welcome. Overall, we had a fantastic time and would not hesitate in recommending this to family or friends visiting Bath and hope to return ourselves in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colejen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We booked the Apsley House Hotel as it was number one on Tripadvisor in the city of Bath. We made a good choice, we found this hotel very comfy, service was good and personal, breakfast was great, love the idea of a honesty bar and we were delighted for being greeted in the morning by the lovely hotel dog.
Aplsey house is a beautiful old villa with great views and lots of parking at the front and is about 20 minutes walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,382 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $191 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing