We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apsley House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$156
$146
MGallery
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$394
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $358/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$120
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$167
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$108
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$227
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harington's City Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$113
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,493)
Filter reviews
1,493 results
Traveler rating
1,307
162
14
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,307
162
14
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barwellington roomromantic roombeau roomchampagne roomwellesley roomhonor barfour poster bedgarden suiteslipper bathcoach housedaily specialsmolton brown toiletriesvictoria parkcity centreroll top baththe lower ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,330 - 1,335 of 1,493 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I chose Apsley House for my girlfriend's birthday weekend based on other Trip Advisor reviews. I could not have found better. We were given the beautiful four poster room in the basement, very convenient for the breakfast room(!), and found the accommodation immaculate, the service attentive without being intrusive and the breakfasts superb. I'd also asked about having a champagne breakfast on the birthday morning and this was delivered very cordially and really made my girlfriend's day. In view of all this, the half hour walk into the centre of Bath paled into insignificance. Would not hesitate to recommend Apsley House to anyone. Fantastic break, which I'll remember for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Apsley House Hotel and it is evident as soon as you enter why it has received such outstanding reviews. In fact the reviews received and the Stars it has been awarded do not adequately convey the spectacular accomodation, attentive and charming staff and the overall ambience that is Apsley House Hotel.
The outstanding service began even before our visit with furtive calls to arrange suprise gifts for my partner - nothing was too much trouble & the gifts were presented in a wonderfully touching way on arrival at the hotel.
Our room was sumptuous, from the gorgeous four poster bed to the delightful pieces of furniture that had so clearly been thoughtfully selected. i defy anyone entering the room to have not been captivated by it.
Breakfast the following morning was taken gazing out over the enchanting & expertly tended gardens. The food itself was delicious, freshly cooked, beautifully presented and attentively served by a sweet, ever smiling and courteous young lady.
If you want to experience superb personal service at a wonderful hotel in a glorious city then Apsley House Hotel is definately the place for you. If you're looking for a sanitised, off-the-peg impersonal stay then there are a multitude of those readily available further into Bath town!
In fact no single element of our stay at Apsley House Hotel failed to live up to our expectations. And I can say, with absolute certantity, is that stays at Apsley House Hotel will figure significantly in our future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WideEyedLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

An overnight stay started with one of the kindest and attentive introductions we have ever received. The bedroom was a perfect statement of refined class and endearing charm. The whole hotel sits in an air of refined atmosphere and old fashioned service that is so refreshing in current times of plastic fast service conveyor belt type accomodation. Breakfast was served of perfect quality in a charming room with views of the garden, lit in delightfull morning sunshine. If you are looking for an escape from the formula chain-based room then stay here. If you have a romantic bone in yr body ....... you will love it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Apsley House in Bath and if you thinking of staying in this beautiful city, then look no further than this hotel
It's situated about 30 mins walk from the city centre and is easly accessible by car, taxi, bus etc....
Duncan made us very welcolme as soon as we got out of the car, and the first rate service didn't falter the entire weekend. Very helpful without being intrusive...
The room we had (room 5) was a decent size with en suite and a view of the rolling hills in front of the hotel.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, so don't dither, just book it!!! You wont regret it...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohwow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I suppose if I was a more experienced traveler, I would have taken one look at Room 11 and said I wanted another room. Apparently, "Garden Level" in the UK means underground. There was one glass door, which opened as a window at the top. Everything about the Apsley House was excellent, except that for visitors staying three nights, I would have thought we would have a room above ground. Be aware, there are, I think, three other rooms underground. In the US, there must be two means of egress, here there was one. Now, one would doubt there would be something happening to trap you down there, but, you are trapped. Also, they tell me Room 11 is the only one without a hand-held shower, which they did tell me in advance. So I think the prior reviewer is correct, they probably didn't rent out 11 rooms in the past. The linens were perfect and high-end, the room was not damp, the breakfast was excellent, although only 1-1/2 hours 8-9:30 to get to it, not great for jet-lagged. Service was perfect in every way. Walk to town not a problem, it depends on how much you are comfortable walking. I will say I think they know their shortcomings, and try to minimalize them, eg, yes, the walk is short to the END of town. It is in a crowded setting, although it was very quiet...probably due to being underground! ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellengloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COCOPOTTS, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

We are terribly sorry that the reviewer did not enjoy their choice of room as much as we would have liked and we do value all comments in order to improve our facilities. We market Room 11 as follows (and this is the exact description send to the reviewer in response to their enquiry):

SUPERIOR FOUR POSTER GARDEN ROOM WITH EN-SUITE ANTIQUE ROLL TOP BATH
Located on the lower ground floor with its entrance door from the garden. This newly refurbished, romantic room has a massive intricately carved King-size Four Poster Bed, lavishly dressed in beautiful Dupion Silk and a walk through door into the bathroom which has a huge, very decadent, original antique roll top bath with column plunger (No Shower). This is the smallest of our Four Poster rooms and has its own outside entrance from the Garden. Shown on our web-site.

The reviewer had a choice of 3 different rooms, however this particular room was chosen out of the list of available rooms by the reviewer. The description clearly states that the room is located on the lower ground floor. In a detailed confirmation this was highlighted once again:

I am delighted to confirm your reservation for One Superior Four-Poster Garden Room with En-suite Antique-Roll Top Bath (No Shower or Shower attachment) located on the lower ground floor accessed via the garden for 3 nights arriving on…

A lovely room indeed, very romantic and private, liked by many but certainly not liked by all due to the smaller size, no shower/attachment and perhaps the outside access in less pleasant weather conditions but the Antique Bath, with the original column plunger, is a feature in itself and many guests have nicknamed this the "Honeymoon Room". We have taken the time to describe all our rooms in detail as to avoid any misunderstandings or disappointments, and will happily suggest best suitable room to fit individual requirements and the purpose of your visit, as we value all our guests and want them to have a comfortable and memorable stay with us.

Thank you to the reviewer for all the positive comments included as well, this is highly valued by all of us and we hope to accommodate you in a more suitable room on a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews