We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
British columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I have stayed in a lot of five star hotels on business. This is the best. Attention to detail for comfort of guests is unmatched. Beautifully run, lovely rooms, great service. We were beyond comfortable. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    158
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
171
977
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Title says it all really but we stayed in the very large Wellington room (bit of a treat) and had a lovely time. Staff were friendly, approachable and helpful and the breakfast was very nice indeed, yum.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Pied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I stayed in Apsely House in May 09 with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff who showed us round the hotel and carried our baggage to the room. They were also more than helpful with giving us directions and details of things to do in Bath.

The rooms were delightful, our room was the "Romance" room and had a huge four poster bed with a really comfy duvet. All the furniture was old and fitted in with the style of the place perfectly. All this along with the little touches (fresh flowers in the room, bottled water by the bed etc) all added to the WOW factor.

The breakfast in the morning was very good too, there was breakfast bar where you could get fruit/cereal etc and then a choice of cooked breakfast from the kitchen. It really all was terrific and I couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

stayed 3 nights (room rate is very good value for quality/service/room), while attending Badminton Horse Trails (great locn by the way , avoid Bath centre by going over country roads thru Lansdown) We stayed in room 9, with the 4 poster (Bed is bliss) and french doors onto garden, room is lovely with a mix of antique character in the bedroom and a modern contemporary bathroom, shower is big and powerful, hot water on demand, towels are of excellent quality and of course the Molton Brown toiletries, bath is a tight fit for a 6 footer but just fill to the top to relax after a long day. french doors on to lovely garden are great for sitting out having a beer at night or tea in the morning. Room cleaning is excellent, its as though a magician has been in while you have been out in the day. Hosts Duncan and Anel are brilliant and serve your every need, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is very good with lots of variety to suite all. Bath center is a 5 min taxi ride a way, Taxi's arrive within 2 mins of calling. Restaurants :-We went to La Flamma, Alsace influence, traditional french food, good regional wine list, good service decent price (£70 for 2 with wine). Mezzaluna fine italian, food was superb, wine list was low to mid range, good service and decent price (£80 for 2 with wine). La Pinch, food was disappointing (duck starter limited taste, Hake Main undercooked), over priced for quality/service (£150 for 2 with wine), service poor (asked for 2 glasses champagne with starter which never arrived but charged on bill), also 10% service charge on bill which isnt mentioned anywhere. Anyway back to Aspley if your visiting Bath , get yourself booked in, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

My wife and I have recently returned from a stay ay Apsley house and have to say that we found all of the reviews that we have read (except the one about rude staff) to be spot on.
The hotel is a credit to the owners and managers. The staff were both friendly and very helpful and the room was fantastic. The breakfast was wonderful. I can highly recommend a stay at Apsley house, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We stayed 2 nights; the room was beautifully presented room on 1st floor. Breakfast was excellent, Everything was done in a quality but friendly way. Good advice on what to see and transport or walk into Bath.
Friendly advice on best way to London destination, including map and driving instructions printed from internet.
Minor complaint is distance to Bath centre.
Recommended for all who like quiet comfort.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Althoguh the room was small, it was wonderful; private entrance from the garden, most comfortable four-poster canopy bed, great bathroom- with antique roll top bath which I now want in my own house. The breakfast room and lounge area were beautifully decorated and had views to the garden. The breakfast was wonderful; as was the selection to choose from. For me the location was perfect. You could walk into the town and past a wonderful local bake shop with cakes, bread and tarts to die for. You could also walk through the Victoria and Albert Park to the Royal Crescent and into the center of Bath. I look forward to any opportunity to return to the Apsley House and Bath.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaQ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing