We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Champagne room over the Easter weekend and it was wonderful. The room was beautiful, breakfast was delicious and the staff were so friendly! Feel fully relaxed and will definitely be back and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was recommended Apsley House by a work colleague and it not disappoint. We stayed in the Champagne room which is located on the 1st floor. The bathroom is a bit on the small side, especially when sat on the toilet as you are sandwiched between the shower cubicle and the radiator. The breakfast is cooked to perfection and is well presented, there is choice even for the fussiest eater. As many of the reviews have stated the location is about a 20 min walk from the centre. We did use the local bus service and purchased a day rider ticket, the No. 1 bus goes directly to Apsley, with a bus stop outside. A taxi back from the centre on Saturday night cost £7.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homebird_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were told that this hotel is a 20-25 minute walk to the center of Bath. 45-50 minutes is more like it, and not a particularly scenic walk. The hotel itself is quite lovely, quiet, staff very helpful and friendly, wonderful breakfast. Room was a bit rough around the edges, but nothing alarming. Nice place to stay if you have a car, but not if you're exploring on foot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldXplorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent two nights here in 'The Beau' room and in brief we had a lovely warm welcome, super comfy bed, quiet relaxing location, delightful breakfast and I would certainly go back again and stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lowerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Could not fault this Hotel the staff were charming and so friendly, everything has been thought of, just lovely. The breakfast room was really warm and inviting and service prompt, food was very fresh and lots of it. All in all such a nice place

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for 3 nights in the Salamanca room on the top floor overlooking the garden, the room was wonderfully quiet and very well appointed. The staff are very professional, friendly and nothing was too much trouble without being overbearing. The breakfast was beautifully prepared with a great choice in a lovely setting. A 20 minute stroll down into town and well served by frequent buses if required. A great place to stay for visiting Bath, well worth that little bit more!

Room Tip: The Salamanca is on the top floor accessed via a narrow, steep staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We visited Apsley House and we were pleasantly surprised. The stay was cosy, homely, clean and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious! It was a 25 minute walk from the centre of town.. We shall be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookiebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $191 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing