We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed one night at Apsley House Hotel for a two day visit of Bath. We have been really happy about the hotel, the couple who own the hotel greeted us on our arrival, husband being french, we clicked as french being our first language! The hotel is really really nice. We were given a garden room which included a separate room or our 7 yr old daughter who was so happy to discover toys in the room, teddys on the bed.. The bathroom is immaculate clean comprising of separate bath and walk in shower. The comfort of the room is comparable to a 5 star hotel with the authenic feeling in addition! You feel as if living in a real house instead of antiseptic hotel rooms. The hotel is not situated in the city centre, Bath being a Special town, we did not have any problem to get parkings in town both Vdays easily. It is a 3 minutes drive to the Royal Crescent or Roman Baths. We loved our stay at te Apsley House, the breakfast very nice. We wouls love to be back for longer stay next time. No swimming pool by the way, but I cannot remove the icon from the list..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranceMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour!

Merci beaucoup pour avoir pris le temps d'ecrire ces mots amiables.

Nous apprecions beaucoup et c'etait un plaisir de faire votre connaisance.

Excusez-moi pour mon francais, j'essaie sans l'aide de Raphael!

Revenez bientot!

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

I should have written this review a long time ago as our stay was in December 2012, but testament to our nights stay at this charming little hotel, we are going to be staying here again this December.
A gorgeous period house divided up in to an imaginative selection of bedrooms, mixed from the more contemporary, with lush modern decor to the more traditional cosy, classic English home, the rooms have something for everyone.

I had planned to propose to my girlfriend last December and thought a night away in the stunning city of Bath would present the perfect opportunity. Trip advisor helped me find the most romantic hotels and I picked this one Aspley House, the number one choice and with excellent reviews.
I enjoyed browsing the hotel website and looking at the pictures of the rooms and chose the ‘Champagne’ room based on its more contemporary look and venetian four poster with pinks and reds in the colour scheme.

I am not one for garish public gestures and my then girlfriend would have probably died of embarrassment if I had proposed in public. I spoke with the hotel management in the weeks leading up to our stay and they were extremely helpful in aiding my plans. I planned to propose prior to us going for dinner. I was able to get Champagne delivered to the rooms and distract my girlfriend by getting here to wait in the relaxing drawing room by the fire, before letting her see the room which in addition to its gorgeous furnishings, I had added some rose petals decoration and the champagne before popping the question, to which fortunately she said yes!

All in all an excellent idealistic stay and a perfect place for a private proposal in my opinion and my girlfriend was very happy and I got some brownie points for the added romance!

The rooms are fantastic with a nice bathroom and a real treat with some Molton Brown toiletries. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with a great selection of continental and cooked items, with a nice outlook onto the garden and some great views.

We can’t wait to go back this year it’s a very comfortable and clean hotel with exceptionally helpful staff, it was a real treat to stay here.

Room Tip: Champagne room was a great pick for a modern romantic setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itchy_feet_Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive view of the hotel.

I must admit I can take no credit for this as it was before I started, although the hotel is under the same ownership so all the same high standards are maintained and the house itself is very much as it was when you visited.

I do hope that you will consider coming to stay again so we can thank you in person.

Warm Regards,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Wonderful hosts and the historic charms of the house made our stay special. Very homey touches like an honesty bar and books and magazines to read sets this accommodation apart from other boutique hotels. Really relaxing and top notch nosh - it was worth staying for brekkie alone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuppaChupx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Chuppa Chupz (great name!),

Many thanks for your kind review, and for taking the time to write it.

I have passed on your feedback about the breakfast to Raphael, and you are more than welcome to drop in for breakfast next time you are passing! Although obviously you are welcome to stay again!

Warm Regards,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were looking for somewhere in Bath for a bit of luxury without breaking the bank and Apsley House more than fitted the bill!This liitle hotel exudes history and style from every nook and cranny. The rooms are lovely with little extra touches like guides books and a teapot in them making them that little bit more special. Everything you could think of needing has been thought about and provided. The breakfasts are fantastic and are taken in the beautiful dining room with views out over the garden. The honesty bar in the evening is a lovely idea and great place to relax after a day exploring. Location is great with a beautiful 25min walk through the park all that seperates you from the attractions of central Bath. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The standard,location,history and service make it a must if staying in Bath!

Room Tip: Have a look for mid week deals as we got a great discount for our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear John,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts on here, it is most appreciated by all of us.

The owners have put a lot of thought into the rooms, and the little touches, so it is lovely to hear that you notice these things and they make a difference.

We try to think of everything and your feedback keeps us motivated to constantly ensure we are looking after our guests.

Warm Regards,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Apsley House and once again we were rewarded with a wonderful welcoming break! This is a 'class' small hotel! We would highly recommend a visit!
The hotel is close to the city, a 5 minute drive or even better a 30 minute stroll, will bring you to the city centre !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Ken,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on here. How fabulous that you keep coming back as well!

We hope we can welcome you again, be sure to re-introduce yourself!

Warm Regards,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a birthday treat for my husband and it was completely perfect! We were in the Waterloo room on the second floor which is reached by a narrow steep set of stairs which may be a problem for some people but there are other rooms on the first and ground floor. The furnishings are perfect - antique bedside tables and heavy curtains with swags, but the bathroom was beautifully modern with a large shower cubicle and lovely bath, which filled to the brim with hot water in the morning.

All the staff we met were charming and very helpful, explaining how to get into town etc. Breakfast was fantastic, we went for the Eggs Royale which was the special for the day and I don't think I have had a better breakfast anywhere else.

The location of the hotel is perfect too as it has private parking you can leave your car there and it is only a 20 minute walk into the town centre. We got a taxi back at night as it was pouring and that was only £7.40.

Only downside was that we were only there for one night! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Twyn,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on here, we really do appreciate it.

I am so glad that you enjoyed Raphael's Eggs Royale. I am always telling people that no-one does a hollandaise sauce like Raphael, but I think most assume I just biased! Anyway I have passed on your feedback to him and the rest of the staff, and it really does help us keep doing what we are doing.

We hope you come back and stay again sometime!

Warm Regards,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is that you will be taken care of at the Apsley House. This is a hotel that caters to your every need and treats you as a very special guest. I would absolutely come back and stay with Gillie and Raphael. I am extremely impressed how they make you feel welcomed and comfortable during the whole stay.

We will be back

The Sullivan's

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sulltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear The Lovely Sullivans,

Well what a lovely review you have written us, and what a pleasure it was to have to stay and to appreciate it.

You are welcome back here anytime!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you travelled safely back to Poland.

Until the next time

:)

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $191 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing