We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Bath Priory(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Queensberry Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harington's City Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveler rating
1,297
162
14
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,297
162
14
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barwellington roomromantic roombeau roomchampagne roomwellesley roomhonor barfour poster bedgarden suiteslipper bathb bcoach housedaily specialsmolton brown toiletriesvictoria parkcity centreroll top bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
848 - 853 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just come back from a 2-night stay in the Vitoria room and we're already organising diaries so we can go back. Period room with modern bathroom, including a walk in shower and slip bath. The building itself has a great history and its been tastefully updated. Breakfast was excellent. What sets this hotel apart though is the level of service. It's simply better than any other hotel I've stayed at - and I've stayed at a few! It's hard to say something that hasn't been already said. It really is the bet place to stay in Bath.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jbwakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A gorgeous Georgian house (not quite a mansion but close) with individually styled rooms, furnished and decorated in an appropriate period style, but with totally modern bathrooms. Impeccable service and fabulous breakfast. Somewhere which I would be very happy to live, and thankfully free of all the unnecessary attributes of a modern hotel. Do be aware that it is a good 30 minute walk to the centre of the city.

Room Tip: We had the Garden Room which is almost a suite and very spacious, but it is in the basement and only a glazed door to the garden for natural light, which didn't worry us but might some people.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My partner & I stayed just the one night at Apsley House during March this year but that one night alone made a very big impression on both of us! From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, the staff made us feel very welcomed & very relaxed. We stayed in the Waterloo room which was very comfortable, had an enormous bed & a fab bath & shower. The only slight downside was the 2 flights of stairs we had to climb but this is just being picky really.

We loved the relaxing lounge with it's baby grand piano & "honesty bar"!! My other half used to run a pub so she felt very much at home behind the bar, mixing our drinks while I tinkled the ivories for an hour after dinner.

Breakfast was to die for! We shared an eggs benedict and an egg, ham & muffin breakfast between us, plus coffee, juice, cereal & toast! It really was fab & set us up perfectly for the day ahead.

I'd recommend this place to anyone. OK, it's a 5 minute drive from the centre of Bath so walking it would be a bit of a trek but hey, I'd go back there any time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the hotel we received an amazing experience. The lady at the front was delightful and so lovely. She took us up to the room and gave us a map told us of all the places we should visit and a little history about the place. The room was beautiful. It was overlooking the garden and you could see up to the hills. The breakfast was delicious with a full English breakfast and you must try the home made jam and marmalade which was divine. It really was perfect because of the exceptional service in a wonderful hotel. This is value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angiemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We are just finishing a three night stay at Apsley House and it has surpassed all our expectations.
We were warmly greated on arrival, given a tour of the hotel, information about Bath and helped to our room. The Wellington has an extra large bed and a fabulous view. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom had both a shower and slipper bath.
The walk into town is about 30 minutes but if you take the route suggested by the hotel, through the park, it is beautiful.
The breakfast has been tasty with a cold buffet and cooked option. A daily special adds interest and the full English vegetarian option is a good addition.
The staff are warm, friendly and always happy to help.
Our visit here was a Christmas present to my husband and Apsley house have made the stay very special. Thank you x

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews