We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the hotel we received an amazing experience. The lady at the front was delightful and so lovely. She took us up to the room and gave us a map told us of all the places we should visit and a little history about the place. The room was beautiful. It was overlooking the garden and you could see up to the hills. The breakfast was delicious with a full English breakfast and you must try the home made jam and marmalade which was divine. It really was perfect because of the exceptional service in a wonderful hotel. This is value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    156
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
169
958
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We are just finishing a three night stay at Apsley House and it has surpassed all our expectations.
We were warmly greated on arrival, given a tour of the hotel, information about Bath and helped to our room. The Wellington has an extra large bed and a fabulous view. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom had both a shower and slipper bath.
The walk into town is about 30 minutes but if you take the route suggested by the hotel, through the park, it is beautiful.
The breakfast has been tasty with a cold buffet and cooked option. A daily special adds interest and the full English vegetarian option is a good addition.
The staff are warm, friendly and always happy to help.
Our visit here was a Christmas present to my husband and Apsley house have made the stay very special. Thank you x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I cannot disagree with what any of the other reviewers have said about this beautiful place! The bedrooms are wonderful (especially the beds - soooo comfortable!) and I would highly recommend this if you are looking for a quiet, B&B-esq stay. However, the reason for the '3' on value is because for the same money (we had the Garden Suite) it is possible to stay in a Bath hotel where you would also have use of facilities for the price you pay, so whilst I cannot fault anything at all, I would just consider what kind of break you are looking for and choose accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for night in the Garden Suite which is excellent for three adults. We could not believe our luck at making such a good choice for our night in Bath. The whole hotel has a very luxurious, up market feel with beautiful furniture and decor. The room had a door to the garden and this was very pleasant. The staff were welcoming and polite, especially Pablo, who was there when we arrived. Breakfast was a very civilised and delicious affair with a fantastic choice of food. We walked into Bath centre in the evening and this wasn't too far especially as you can end up by the Royal Crescent after walking through the park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I decided to rent out the self catering apartment for my parents, myself and my son, on the night before my wedding (and an extra day for them) and the Beau Room for myself and my new husband on the night of our wedding.

A week before the wedding, we were in the area, so popped in to confirm our arrangements and ask a few questions. The lady went totally beyond and above to show us around, where we would be staying etc, and offered to allow us to use the hotel for pictures, even though we were staying in the apartment.

When we arrived the day before tyhe wedding, I was extremerly impressed by the friendliness of the staff and pure luxery of the apartment.

I would thoroughily recommend the apartment for wedding parties as it is private, but also allows room for people getting ready, hair and make up ladies and photographers, and we got some amazing pictures next to their grand piano, on the stairs etc that we will treasure fvorever.

The room my husband and I stayed in on our wedding night, was quite simply, perfect. It had its own entrance, so lovely and private, and a very warm romantic room, with a very large deep bath.

The breakfast in the morning was again, amazing.

All round, I am so glad I stayed here for my wedding, it made the day, which was brilliant in itself, even better.

We will definately be back!

Thank you Apsley House!

Room Tip: The apartment is perfect for weddings, and The Beau room is perfect for a privacy and romance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebluefairyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful stay here. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is wonderful and although the Copenhagen room we stayed in is discounted due to the lack of view, the massive bed, underfloor heated bathroom and roll top bath certainly made this room feel luxurious. I felt like an extra in a Merchant Ivory production - it has spoilt me for all other hotels in Bath! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbiewhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
202 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a Sunday night in November. Our host was very welcoming. Gave us a tour and showed us to the Waterloo room which was nice. Nice linen and spotless. Breakfast was pretty good. Met by a friendly dog downstairs. The honesty bar was a very nice too too. I would stay here again. Kind of on a par with one three nine another boutique b&b in bath.


We ate in yak yeti yak in town which was excellent. No 5 on pulteney bridge is also good for lunch. Good value cocktails in browns Sunday - wed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collegefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the City, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing