We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, all the staff were very friendly and are extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The Breakfast was amazing and all freshly cooked - we had several courses. You can walk to the town centre, but it does take about 25 minutes, the walk through the gardens is nice. We will go back! Thank you for making our visit extra special.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Apsley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Rooms were clean and well presented. Our room had a slipper bath, which was awesome. Free wifi. Breakfast was delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Short taxi/bus ride to town. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discohedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Quiet, civilised, good value - just look at the photos. I really like this small hotel / large B&B. Plenty of parking, very good breakfast, free wi-fi, just faultless. You can't walk into town from here but I don't want to, so that's not a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinnyJones1982232a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A comfortable, luxurious and reasonably priced B&B on the outskirts of Bath. You'll find free parking, wifi and an honesty bar. it's an £8 taxi ride into town or a long walk. Breakfast was generous and tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I can't fault this place! It is an absolutely beautiful property with an interesting history. The owners are very friendly and helpful and go above and beyond. We stayed in the Wellesley room which is next to the breakfast room and the reception but we weren't bothered by any noise. The hotel is on the outskirts of bath with it's own car parking, we didn't find this a problem as we just got a taxi into the centre between £7 and £8 depending on where we were going. I imagine the walk would be pleasant on a sunny day but unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there. The breakfast was extremely nice and there was a special on each morning. Definitely the place to stay if your planning a visit to Bath.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claretp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights the first week after New Year's. First impressions of the hotel were very good, with it being one of a few places which has its own private car park at the front. Staff on reception were helpful, knowledgable and understanding of our needs throughout our stay and were very happy to give us recommendations for places to eat, visit, etc. Stayed in the 'champagne' room which was beautiful with a huge four poster bed - only critisizm would be the room was very hot, but opened the window after the first night. Didn't make it up for the 7.30-9.00 breakfast but it was nice to see the honesty system for the drinks - would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Bath.

As a side note, it is worth pointing out that the hotel isn't in the centre of Bath...if the weather is good you can walk (about 30 mins), but there is a regular bus service into town just outside (£2.00-3.00 per person to the bus station) and taxi's are easy to come by (about £6.00-8.00 depending on time/traffic)...not an issue for me but may be for some.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dzny85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place to stay while visiting Manchester. The operators are lovely people and very helpful. The breakfasts are above average and the rooms large, clean and fresh looking. The only downside is that it's a 20 minute walk into the center of Bath. If we had not been with our adult children, we would have walked it back and forth, but they often wanted to taxi in and out, which is an extra expense. We took day trips to Stonehenge and a nearby Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed. Both worth the visits and we had lunch near Stonehenge at the Red Lion (great gasto pub) and lunch in Lacock At the Sign of the Angel, equally yummy. One bit of advice: several people told us to skip Stonehenge and go to Avebury. We went to both and Stonehenge was definitely worth it. If you had to chose, skip Avebury.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,278 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 32 in Bath
1,359 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $200 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing