We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Row, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in the Copenhagan Room at this hotel and it was lovely. It was beautifully clean and had lots of lovely touches to make it really special. The bathroom was modern and lovely, with bath and seperate shower.
We were made very welcome when we arrived and the breakfasts were delicious and served in a beautiful dining room.
Although the hotel doesn't serve evening meals, we were provided with a tray with plates, cutlery and napkins when we decided to take some snacks back with us in the evening.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Would definately go back....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    156
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
169
958
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our 2 night stay here was very enjoyable. The rooms are beautifully laid out with lots of little extras to ensure you are made to feel at home and comfortable. We stayed in Vittoria, which was in the attic up a couple of flights of stairs. The room was warm and cosy, considering it was in the attic. The bed was large and soft with lots of pillows. Plenty of space for storing things. Tea/coffee/water were provided in the room. The room was quiet. The bathroom is very well fitted out with a slipper bath and a large walk in shower with rain shower head. There was loads of very hot water. Molton Brown toiletries were supplied.
The breakfast room was welcoming and there was a very good choice of food, both continental and cooked to order. Breakfast was available until 9:30am which is great for those on holiday. The quality of the food was excellent.
Transport in to town was well explained. It's a simple walk of about 30 mins, or there are loads of buses travelling on that route. Also a taxi was only about £7 or £8. We also went for a drink one evening in the Weston, a 7 minute walk down the hill, this was a nice pub.
I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Vitoria is nicely set up, but you need to be able to tackle quite steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

From a warm welcome by David, to an excellent breakfast, and everything in between. This was a thoroughly enjoyable experience from start to finish. Ample parking is available and its a lovely walk to the centre of town. The hotel had a drawing room for a quiet G&T after a long day at the Christmas markets and a wee rest before dinner in one of the many local restaurants. We wouldn't take any convincing to make a return visit to Apsley House Hotel.

Room Tip: Wellington Room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My cousin and I stayed at the Apley House for 3 nights Nov 11-12-13. We booked the Garden Suite as it has an extra bedroom seperated by a curtain with a twin bed, closet, dresser and nightstand. I stayed in the tiwn bed and it was very confortable. The Garden Suite has a very modern bathroom and you have a private entrance to the garden. The hotel is lovely and charming and the staff are so nice and helpful. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the breakfast room is beautiful. It was so nice to come back to the hotel after a day of touring and sit in the living room next to a warm fire with a glass of wine from the honesty bar. I had a chance to peek into the other 2 rooms on the lower floor and they are just as beautiful as the Garden Suite. We walked into town each morning but took a cab ride back at night. There are several Pubs and restaurants with-in walking distance of the hotell and the staff will provide you with a list of their favorites. Say hi to Coco the dog...he loves to greet visitors in the morning. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful 2 nights stay at the Apsley House Hotel. It is truly excellent in every way. Very friendly and helpful couple who manage the hotel, lovely room, nice view, excellent breakfast, comfortable, quiet, parking at front. About a 30 min walk to Bath Centre down hill or along pretty canal and river, so we walked down and got taxis back. Buses also available. A most relaxing weekend. One of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in. Cannot fault it.

Room Tip: The Wellington room on first floor with lovely view. Large room, well furnished, nice bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightscrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was our first time trying boutique hotel. After reading all the positive reviews on here, we had high expectations and the hotel did not disappoint us. We had the Garden Suite which is very roomy with a private door to the garden. It has a small room for family with children, that is separated from the main room by a curtain. Furniture is charming. Bed is super comfortable, probably my favorite thing about this hotel. The bathroom is also beautiful, with high end toiletries, a bathtub, and a shower stall. Breakfast is very tasty and more than enough. Love the buttery croissants! Staff is wonderful, too. The hotel is a bit out of the way to visit the center of Bath but we took a taxi which cost about 6 pounds, not a big deal. Over all, it was a great experience and it was our first of many stays at boutique hotels!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seonmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
202 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Sunday night in November. Our host was very welcoming. Gave us a tour and showed us to the Waterloo room which was nice. Nice linen and spotless. Breakfast was pretty good. Met by a friendly dog downstairs. The honesty bar was a very nice too too. I would stay here again. Kind of on a par with one three nine another boutique b&b in bath.


We ate in yak yeti yak in town which was excellent. No 5 on pulteney bridge is also good for lunch. Good value cocktails in browns Sunday - wed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collegefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the City, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing