We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 days in he lovely romantic room. It was very comfortable and cosy. All the staff were helpful, courteous and welcoming. The breakfast was to die for. I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world but have never been served such a succulent English breakfast. The quality was top notch and the presentation was excellent. It tasted absolutely delicious. We stayed at Apsley on recommendation from a friend and I am very pleased we did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlegem16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    158
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
171
977
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Apsley House Hotel is a 'bed and breakfast hotel', but not a b&b in the usually accepted sense. It is a lovely Georgian house outside the centre of Bath, and was built by the Duke of Wellington for his mistress! The room that we had was lovely, with a four poster bed and steps to the garden. The service was excellent in every way and could not be faulted. By concentrating on breakfast and no other meals one expects perfection and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed a freshly prepared and delicious breakfast in the elegant dining room overlooking the garden. We were treated as honoured guests and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, all of whom were charming. The only very slight niggle was the distance into the City. We were told 20 minutes walk, but it took us two 70 year olds at least twice that long! However, there is a bus top opposite the hotel!

Room Tip: Take advice from the very helpful reception staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoshamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Level Contributor
334 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stephanie and Dave provided an apartment to us that fits exactly what I needed: a familiar space for my family and my daughter friend. They are so kind and friendly - the sort of thing that make difference for better in Bath.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your family, and you're more than 3 book the Self Catering Coach House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as a treat as we wanted to see Bath.

My phone booking was taken by the manager (Steph) some time ago. She was extremely friendly and did all she said she would. (confirmations etc) 10/10.

Our room was ready early so we left our luggage in the room and explored Bath. If you walk into the centre it's a good half hour and uphill on return. You can always get a taxi if you want to though.

The room is a good size and the bathroom is excellent. We stayed in room 4 (Waterloo). You have a shower AND a bath.

Hotel internet connection was top rate for wi-fi. Good speed and easy to log on.

The niggles:

The tea/coffee box only has 1 pack of biscuits and the milk is a bit sparse. We could of asked for more but didn't so fair enough.

The red button on BBC works when you push it but you cannot get any news / sports stories up as the page just shows a page loading message and stays there. As we had the internet it was not an issue but could be for people without a computer.

The lighting system is confusing and it's hard to put lights on individually.

The heating is on timer and the room was cold at times. We had a small heater which we utilised which made some difference. We could of asked for the heating to be switched on but we just put extra clothes on or sat in bed.

The positives:

The staff. All good establishments rely on memorable staff. David and Steph were excellent. David helped me to get a sat nav postcode for a trip i wanted to make. The waitress on our departure day was also excellent (she works mainly in the dinning area i was told).

The Dog. He was an older dog (13) but lovely. He's a free spirit and goes where he wants. Lovely.

The breakfast. All food was top quality. Sausages / bacon were the best. They even made me some fried bread. A great selection to cover every taste. Good, quick service and the waiting staff were extremely attentive without being annoying (like many places).

We paid £120 per night and felt this was over what we would have paid, on reflection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Inspect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

After a stressful year, it was lovely to go back again to our favourite hotel in Bath. Warm welcome friendly hosts, superb surroundings, a lovely view from our room which had a giant four poster bed and a little fridge to cool the champers! What more could you ask? Breakfast was lovely, exactly what we asked for and served nice and hot - and with lots of hot buttered toast. What a wonderful way to start the day.
Thank you so much, it made our mini break absolutely superb and we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own character, if you are disabled stay in the room next to the breakfast r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countyhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really lovely hotel.. Staff go out of their way to accommodate you and your needs. Really friendly! Stayed in the romantic room was amazing! Breakfast was good! And a nice walk into bath or taxi for £7. Honesty bar was a good touch too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FD301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose to stay at Apsley House after reading so many excellent reviews & were very glad that we stayed. It is a beautiful hotel, set slightly out from the centre, quietly elegant & very welcoming. We were staying in Bath for my husband's 40th & we can highly recommend this hotel for any occasion. The room was beautiful, breakfast was divine (as someone who has cooked many breakfasts in a past life I could really appreciate the food!) but what made the stay top class were the couple who run the hotel, friendly, welcoming, helpful to any request, their thoughtful attentiveness and care would make you stay at this hotel any time! Bath was a beautiful city & if we come back, then this is where we would stay - thank you Apsley House!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Champagne room, which doesn't have a bath (not a problem for us as it had a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing